So, you’re on Instagram and you have a suspicion that someone has blocked you from seeing their story. Unfortunately, Instagram doesn’t tell you that someone has hidden you from their story.
Instagram released a story feature a few years ago which allowed your followers to view your story. depending on your privacy settings, either your followers could’ve watched your story, or your story would be available for the whole public to see.
Since some people want to limit who can see their story and make certain things private so others won’t see, Instagram allowed people to hide their story from certain followers. When blocking someone from seeing your story, they won’t be able to see your story.
You could be frustrated because you want to know if this person has a problem with you. Luckily for you, I’m going to show you a few ways to check if someone has hidden you from viewing their Instagram story.
Can You Tell If Someone Blocked You from Seeing Their Story on Instagram?
Unfortunately, there’s no way to know who actually blocked you from seeing their story on Instagram because this would violate people’s privacy. Although their story is available for the rest of their followers, once they’ve hidden their story from you, there’s no possible way to see it.
If you’re wondering if your friend has blocked you from viewing their story, there’s no way to exactly know if they have. If they don’t post any stories, then this can make you suspicious because you might have come to the conclusion that they’ve blocked you from viewing it, however, just because someone doesn’t post stories anymore, doesn’t mean that they’ve blocked you from seeing their story.
However, the closest way to know if someone has hidden their story from you is to ask someone that follows them, ‘what stories have they posted’. From here, you’ll be able to know if they hid their story from you.
How to Tell If Someone Blocked You from Seeing Their Story on Instagram
There are a few ways to tell if someone has blocked you from seeing their story. These are loopholes that you can use to find out, but there’s no way that you’ll be able to find out directly through your own Instagram account. You can only use other accounts to find out because they won’t be hidden from viewing stories.
1. Ask A Friend to Send you Their Story
The first thing you need to do is to ask a friend to send you the suspect’s Instagram story. If you think that you might have been one of the few people that were blocked, you could just ask a friend that you think wasn’t blocked. This friend would have to be following the person if their account is private.
If their account is open, you can just ask anyone to send you their story. When you receive their story via DM, you need to check whether you can see the story or not. If you’ve been blocked, you’re going to see a message saying that the story is unavailable. This means that this person has hidden their story from you.
2. Make a Quick Fake Account
The next thing you can do is to create a fake account.
When you make a fake account, you can use this to act like a different person and not as yourself. When you’re done with making the fake account, you can simply click on the person’s story and view their story if their account is open.
If you couldn’t see the story on your original Instagram account, this means that they’ve blocked you from seeing their story.
If their account is private, here’re some tips to make your account look real so you have more of a chance of getting accepted.
- Add up to 5 pictures
- Gain a few followers or buy 100 followers
- Make your account private
- Make your profile picture attractive
Once you’ve done this, you can send them a follow request and you can keep your fingers crossed to see if they accept your follow request. Once they’re accepted, you need to look at their story and check if you’re able to see it.
If you can, this means that you’ve been blocked.
3. Ask A Friend You’re With to Show you
If you’re with a friend that follows this person, then you can easily ask them for their phone to look at their account. When you check their account, and you see a story that you couldn’t see on your main account, this means that you’ve been blocked.
4. Have They Stopped Posting For A While?
Another way you can tell if they have blocked you from viewing their story is by checking their posting frequency. If they did use to post very frequently, let’s say every day, and they’ve suddenly stopped, this can lead you to believe that they have hidden their story from you.
Although they could’ve just stopped posting altogether, if they have posted frequently and consistently for many months and they suddenly stop for a few weeks, then it’s safe to make the assumption that they’ve hidden their story from you.
How to See Hidden Stories on Instagram
If someone has hidden their story from you, there’s no way you can use the account that they blocked, to see their hidden story. This would be a massive violation of privacy if there was a way to see a story that someone hid you from. Once they’ve hidden you from a story, it’s impossible to see their story using that account again.
Can Someone Know If You Hide Them From Seeing Your Story?
There’s no way that people can find out that you’ve blocked them from viewing their story. However, they can use certain methods to find out that you’ve hidden them from your story, such as asking a friend that follows you to show them or asking a friend that follows you to send it to them.
If they can see that you posted a story using their friend’s account and they can’t view it from their own account, this will let them know that you’ve blocked them from seeing it. If their friend that follows you sends your story to them, and it says ‘Story Unavailable’, this will let them know that you’ve hidden them from viewing your stories.
Does Instagram ‘this story is no longer available’ Mean They Blocked You From Their Story?
If you see the ‘This story is no longer available‘ error, it doesn’t mean that someone blocked you from viewing their story, however, there is a chance that this message is showing because someone has blocked your account. If this is the case, it means that they blocked you once you visited the app so there hasn’t been a period for you to refresh the app so their profile can disappear. To check this is the case, you need to refresh the app and visit their profile. If you haven’t been blocked, then you can put the cause of the message down to the reasons mentioned above.