So, you’ve just clicked on someone’s Instagram profile and it says ‘user not found’ at the top.
People automatically think that they’ve been blocked when they see this message, but this isn’t the case.
There are actually a few meanings behind the user not found error – down below are 3 things that the user not found means.
Let’s get started…
1. They Have Changed Their Username
The first reason why you’ll see the User not Found message on someone’s profile picture is when they have changed their username.
The only occasion you could see this message if they did change their username, is when you click their old username on a tagged picture and land on their account.
If their username isn’t the same anymore, you’ll see the user not found message at the top of their Instagram profile.
You can try and find their new username by searching for their real name – their new username should appear in the search results if they added their name to their account.
2. They have Temporarily Disabled their Account
Another reason why the User not found error will appear is when the owner of the account has temporarily disabled their account.
When an account has been disabled, it’s taken off Instagram’s database temporarily, so others won’t be able to view the account and unfollow it.
Since the account is no longer in their database, you won’t be able to find the user which is why you’ll see the User not Found notification.
3. Their Account Has been Banned/Suspended
The third meaning behind the user not find notification is that their account has been deleted or banned by Instagram.
On very rare occasions, Instagram bans peoples accounts when they haven’t been following their guidelines – they’ve been posting content that’s explicit for example.
If you do come across an account that has been banned, then you’ll see the User not Found message at the top of their account because Instagram has removed it.
If they do manage to get their account back, then you’ll be able to see their account normally again without the message at the top.
Does User not Found Mean that they Blocked me?
When you see ‘user not found’, it doesn’t mean that the owner of the account blocked you.
When someone blocks you, it’s pretty hard to find their account again – the only way you can do this is by looking under a post they commented on and you should be able to see their name.
When you click on their name and visit their profile, you won’t see the term user not found, you’ll see the term ‘No Posts Yet’ because Instagram won’t allow you to see their pictures and videos.
There are only 3 things that the User Not Found error can mean on Instagram and that’s if they’ve been banned, they’ve disabled their account, or if they’ve changed their username.
If you have any questions, comment down below.
If you liked this article, share it!