Do you suspect that someone has blocked you? Usually, the best way to check if someone has blocked your number is by calling them numerous amount of times and checking if the call rings once then goes to voicemail. If you do this for a week straight and it always goes to voicemail, they have blocked you.

Although there is a possibility that their phone may be on DND or it’s turned off, doing this continuously for a month reduces the chances of this and fully maximizes the chance that they’ve blocked you.

When calling from a blocked number, the caller will hear one ring, but the other phone remains silent. The caller is then informed that the recipient isn’t available and is diverted to voicemail. If that service is set up by the person you’re calling, you can leave a message even if someone has blocked you but it won’t be delivered if they have blocked you.

However, the problem arises when you don’t want to call them to check if your number has been blocked. This may be an ex, or someone that it would be weird to call, so rather than calling them and it being embarrassing that you’ve just called them and you’re not blocked, it’s better to find out that they’ve blocked your number through other means.

Knowing if someone has blocked your number is all guesswork and there’s no way to actually truly know if you’ve been blocked. So calling someone is not the only way that you’ll know if someone has blocked you so it’s best if you find out through other means because if you guys were close, they probably still have your number and it’s best if you don’t call them because they’ll know you’re still trying to contact them.

How to Know If Someone Blocked Your Number without Calling

Unfortunately, there’s no way to know for sure if someone has blocked your number without you calling them. There’s nothing that you receive when you’re blocked, you’re not notified by notifications, text messages, an error when you call them, it’s purely all guesswork. Even calling them to see how many times it rings before it goes to voicemail doesn’t certify whether you’ve been blocked or not, it just gives you the confidence that you’ve been blocked.

Because blocking someone’s number doesn’t actually block it, it just stops the recipient from being notified about your calls. If you want to know if you’ve been blocked for sure without calling someone, you can message them on WhatsApp because your number wouldn’t have been blocked there. You can simply ask them, did you block me? If they also have you on other social media platforms then it makes it less weird that you’re asking them if they’ve blocked your number.

Another way that you can find out if you’ve been blocked is by calling them on no caller id or an unknown number – even calling them with a friend’s number to see if the call goes through will let you know if they blocked your number or not. This will only let you know that you’ve been blocked if you’ve called them in the past and it never went through but if you haven’t, doing this won’t let you know much. You’re better off just asking them straight up if they have blocked you.

Even if you don’t have WhatsApp, you can email them if you’re in a professional setting asking them if they’ve blocked your number.

Other Ways To Know If Someone Has Blocked Your Number Without Calling Them

iPhone

Looking at message information is not as reliable of an indicator as using test calls, however, some information displayed underneath iMessage can be helpful in determining if someone has blocked you on your iPhone.

Here’s how you can check if you’ve been blocked:

1. Open up iMessage

2. Open the conversation with the suspected blocker

3. Check underneath the last message you sent

4. Check for a read receipt below the last message

Many users have read receipts turned on, so if you no longer see ‘Read at’ underneath your sent messages, you might have been blocked or the person may have turned off Read Receipts. If you didn’t see a read receipt under the last message, check for a deliverer receipt under the last message.

If you used to see ‘Delivered’ when messages were sent, and you no longer do, you might have been blocked. The delivered receipt is known to show inconsistently so this method may not always be reliable.

Android

There an autofill trick that you can use when trying to check if someone has blocked your number on your Android. This may not always be accurate but depending on your Android, it could actually lead you to find out if someone blocked your number.

1. Open the Contacts app on your phone.

2. Tap on the number that you think has blocked you.

3. Click on three vertical dots in the upper right corner.

4. Select Delete to remove the number.

5. Open the Contacts app again.

6. Tap on your phone’s search bar.

7. Type the name of that person.

8. If you can see the name of the person’s number that you deleted being suggested, then there’s a chance that that person hasn’t blocked you. If you can’t see the number being suggested, then there’s a high chance that they’ve blocked your number. To make sure that this is foolproof, then you should test it out with your other contacts.