what is bcrm-lvg

Whilst exploring your Mac PC, you can see some unknown files or device. It’s good to be suspicious about these devices because, in some situations, they can be harmful to your Mac without you knowing. After connecting to a network, in the Finder sidebar under Shared, there may be some unknown network resources.

With File Sharing, you can share files and folders with others on your network. You can share your entire Mac with everyone or allow specific users access to only certain folders with read/write access. The problem with this feature is that it can be dangerous to your PC if you’re using a public network and you don’t want your files to be accessed.

The Finder sidebar allows you to access things like network sharing, custom searches, and home directory. Under shared, there may also be another Mac device called brcm-lvg. The problem with this is that the shared section should only show you resource on your local network suck as individual PCs and servers.

What is BRCM-LVG

BRCM-LVG is a router device that your Mac has detected and is giving you a chance to connect with a hard drive such as a USB. From here you can apply it as a NAS tool. If you want to connect to the router wirelessly, the USB should be able to manage the connection, scan the drive for items and transfer them, receive incoming files from the computer, and write them to the hard disk drive.

The mass storage device that can perform the tasks mentioned above is already built into the router that you Mac has detected and its chipset is created by Broadcom – this is where the BCRM name comes from. If you want to remove the BCRM device from Shared, you’ll need to get away from the location of the router or turn off the router, so your Mac doesn’t pick it up.

Delete BRCM-LVG

If you don’t have access to BRCM-LVG router and you someone else from having the change to access your shared folders, you can delete it your shared folders so that no one can access your files from a public network.

To delete a shared folder from File Sharing:

1. Open Apple menu > System Preferences.

2. Go to Sharing.

3. Check File Sharing in the sidebar.

remove shared folders mac

4. Under Shared Folders, select the shared folder.

5. Click the ‘‘ button.

6. Click Ok to delete the shared folder. Repeat this step for all the unwanted folders.

You should follow these steps if you use your Mac on public networks as a way to protect your mac. No one can access your files unless you store them in the shared folder so there’s nothing to be worried about. You also have to be connected to the same router as someone else for them to access your shared folders. Plus, you need to access read/write to the public folders for others to access them.