If you’re thinking about deleting the Snapchat app from your smartphone, but aren’t sure what happens when you uninstall Snapchat, then this post is for you. There may be several reasons why you may want to delete the app from your phone. Perhaps you don’t use the app much or you’re just bored of it. Maybe you’re spending a lot of time on these social media apps and being less productive.

Snapchat was one of the first social media apps to come with the disappearing messages concept. Users can basically send messages and images that disappear after a certain amount of time. This is great as no one will be able to save your images. Of course, they can take a screenshot, but you will be notified when someone does. Anyway, Snapchat pioneered the ephemeral messaging, which was then copied by other apps such as Instagram, Facebook, WhatsApp, and so on.

In this post, we are going to tell you what happens when you uninstall Snapchat from your phone. Are you worried that if you do this, your profile will be deleted? Well, don’t worry, as nothing happens when you uninstall Snapchat. The only thing that happens is that you will stop receiving notifications and your phone will have some extra space for other apps, photos, etc.

What happens to Snapchat profile?

As stated earlier, nothing will happen to your Snapchat profile when you delete the app. You will be logged out from the service, but everything else will remain the same. Since nothing lasts on Snapchat for more than 24 hours, you will not be able to see any of the stories from your friends and other users that you follow.

What happens to Snaps?

Again, nothing will happen to the snaps that you’ve sent or the ones that you’ve received. If you sent a snap to someone, and then uninstalled the app, the recipient will still be able to view the snap.

However, all the snaps that you’ve received after you deleted the app, will still be waiting for you when go back. When you reinstall Snapchat, the received messages will be available to view. So yes, nothing happens to the messages that others have sent you.

If you sent a snap by mistake and wouldn’t want the other person to see, then you will have to deactivate your account instead of deleting the app. That’s a big step. Deactivating will delete all your contacts and no one will be able to contact you again on the same username.

Can people contact me?

Yes, your friends and everyone who follows you will still see your profile on Snapchat. They can send messages and snaps, but you will not receive any notifications. The messages will be available when you start using the app again, but it could take some time for the servers to load all the messages.

Therefore, to answer your question on what happens when you uninstall Snapchat – nothing. It’s alright if you want to delete the app from your phone and take some time off for yourself. As we said in the beginning, there can be several reasons why you may want to uninstall Snapchat from your phone.