Instagram is a popular social media app that lets users share photos, videos, and other media. However, the app can sometimes store a lot of data on your phone and use up all the storage. At times like these, you may want to uninstall Instagram from your phone. Most of use wouldn’t want to do that, fearing it might get rid of your profile, or delete all your photos. If you’re wondering what happens when you uninstall Instagram, then this post has got you covered.

Before we begin, it should be mentioned that usually when you uninstall any app from your smartphone, only the app data and cache is removed. Sometimes, the app data remains as well, and you will find all your data when you reinstall the app. Nothing will happen to your profile or other details when you delete an app. On iOS, the app data is permanently deleted, but you shouldn’t worry as all your photos and archived stories will still be there on Instagram.

What happens to Instagram Profile?

When you uninstall Instagram on your phone, it will only delete the app. Your photos on Instagram will still be there when you reinstall the app. When you do reinstall the app, you will have to sign back in as uninstalling Instagram will log you out. This process doesn’t do anything to your profile and everything will be the same when you start using the app again.

So yeah, nothing happens to your profile when you uninstall Instagram. Therefore, you can go ahead and uninstall the app if you’re trying to save some space on your phone. On iOS devices, the app size keeps on increasing over time as it stores the images in cache. Therefore, it’s a good idea to delete the app and reinstall it once in a while.

What happens to my Pictures?

Again, nothing really happens to your pictures when you uninstall Instagram from your phone. All your photos will still be there on your profile when you reinstall the app and login again.

What happens to archived stories?

The stories that you’ve saved on your profile or archived to view later, will still be available when you reinstall the Instagram app. Even the saved photos will not be deleted when you uninstall the app from your phone. Don’t worry about any of your data being removed when you delete Instagram.

What happens to my direct messages?

All your direct messages will be saved even when you uninstall the app from your phone. When you sign back in, the messages will be available along with any new messages that may have arrived after you deleted the app.

Can someone tag me?

Yes, your friends can tag you in photos and stories, but you will not hear about this. Since you’ve deleted the app, you will not receive any notifications. If you want to get notifications, then you will have to reinstall Instagram.

You will also not receive any notifications when someone sends you a message on Instagram. If you want to take a break from Instagram, then it’s best to simply delete the app from your phone, instead of deleting your account. This way, all your photos and messages will still be available when you want to start using Instagram again.