What Happens When You Delete Your Snapchat Account?

0

Snapchat can become overwhelming and if you feel like you need a break, you can easily delete the app or if you don’t want your account anymore, you can also delete it. You may not like your username anymore, or you may not want to be contacted, either way, deleting your Snapchat account is easy.

But what happens when you delete your account? Down below, you understand what goes one when you delete your account and what happens to your friends who have you as a contact. It’s just like deleted any other social media account, your whole existence is wiped off the app permanently, but you can find out what actually happens when you deleted your Snapchat account.

Before your Snapchat account is deleted, your account is first deactivated for 30 days. This means that no one can interact with you or contact you. Once 30 days are over, then your snapchat account is permanently deleted. If you log back in within the 30 days, then your account will be reactivated.

Conversations

When your account is deleted, all of your conversations will be wiped. This includes saved chats, and saved pictures/videos within chats as well as links. Any sent snaps will be gone from your recipient’s contact list. Your friends won’t be able to open your conversations because they’ll be deleted.

Friends

All of your friends and people will be removed, and your contact will also be removed from their list so they won’t be able to view your contact anymore.

Memories

If you delete your account, all of your Snapchat memories will be deleted, and you won’t be able to able to retrieve them. It’s a best practice to save your Snapchat memories to your camera roll. This means that if you delete your account, all of your memories will be saved in your camera roll. If you create a new account, you can upload your camera into your memories.

1. Click the Rectangle Memories button on Snapchat.

2. Click the check mark at the top right in Memories.

3. Click on all of your Memories.

4. Click the arrow button below.

5. Click Save videos.

Username

If you delete your Snapchat account, your username will not be made available anymore. The usually associated with your account will be wiped forever and you won’t be able to create a new account under the same username.

Streaks

Since your conversations will be wiped from your friends’ list, all of your streaks will be deleted as well as your contact name. If you have a long streak with someone, you should notify them before deleting your account.

David Johnson is a freelance writer with 9 years of experience writing for Techzillo and other established tech outlets like iMore. His focus and key interests are Apple and accessibility as well as consumer technology in general. Read our Editorial Guidlines and Fact Checking process.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here