What Happens when You Block Someone on Messenger

0
What Happens When You Uninstall Messenger

Within Facebook’s ecosystem, there are two levels of blocking that a user can implement. One of which is far more useful than the other, but both serve their purposes. Blocking someone on Facebook Messenger – one form of blocking – is very different from blocking someone on Facebook altogether – the other form of blocking.

But what happens when you block someone on Facebook Messenger? Do they cease to exist? Are they removed from your friend’s list? Can it be undone? Fear not, for your questions will be answered.

When Happens When You Block Someone

Blocking someone on Facebook Messenger is a lot like giving them “the hand” or shushing them or putting duct tape on their face. It’s a way of silencing a Facebook friend.

Once a friend has been blocked in messenger, they are no longer allowed to message you. They can’t message you or call you. The same rule applies if they try to be slick and message you with Facebook chat. A block on Facebook Messenger is also a block on their website.

There is one exception: group messages. If you block someone on Messenger and you’re invited to a group message the other person is a part of, you will see their messages and they will see yours. However, Facebook will warn you ahead of time. From there you can choose to be a part of the group message or not.

Of course, this level of blocking does nothing aside from blocking their messages. When it comes to your profile, your posts, and so on, they will still be privy to that content unless you go one step and block them entirely.

Will They Know They Were Blocked?

Facebook doesn’t tell someone outright that they were blocked on Messenger, however, a simple Google search can reveal your decision.

When someone you’ve blocked on Facebook Messenger attempts to message you, Facebook will fire back with a message of their own, an innocuous message that reveals very little. It will say “This person isn’t available right now.” Facebook leaves it at that.

Now, if a friend starts seeing that every single time they message you, they might question it. A simple Google search will reveal that it only appears when you’ve been blocked.

Blocking Someone Entirely

As for blocking someone on Facebook, the effect is worse for the other person. For starters, they’re immediately removed from your friend’s list. They are no longer a part of your profile. In turn, this bars someone from messaging you.

If your profile is private, that user can no longer see your profile, even if they once had the option to view everything. That privilege has been stripped from them; in fact, if they try to visit your profile, they won’t be able to see it at all.

Lastly, they cannot overturn someone’s decision to block them. You hold the keys and, if you so choose, you can unblock them one day. But, at the same time, you can leave them blocked for the rest of your Facebook career.

How to Block Someone on Facebook Messenger

1. Locate and open the Facebook Messenger app.

2. Sign in with your Facebook account if you haven’t already.

3. Select a friend from your list of ongoing conversations.

4. In the top right corner you’ll see an info icon, a circle with an “i”. That’s the Info button. Tap on it.

5. Scroll down the page until you come to Block. Go ahead and select it.

6. In the following page, choose Block on Messenger.

7. A pop-up window will appear. Confirm your decision by tapping Block.

How to Block Someone on Facebook

1. Locate and launch the Facebook Messenger app.

2. Log into Facebook Messenger with your Facebook credentials if you aren’t already.

3. Select a friend from your list of ongoing conversations.

4. After opening your messages, tap the Info button in the top right corner of your screen, the “i” icon.

5. On their info page, scroll down until you see Block. Go ahead and tap on it.

6. Choose Block on Facebook.

7. A pop-up window will appear. Confirm your decision by tapping Block.

Bottom Line

Sometimes you just want a friend to leave you alone for a while. Everyone has a friend or two that doesn’t get the hint that you aren’t interested in exchanging words, at least not right now. And it doesn’t help that Facebook notifies the other person when you’ve read their message.

Thankfully, there’s a temporary solution without getting rid of them fully. They are, after all, still a friend – just a talkative one. If someday they turn into a problem, well, you can always block them on Facebook. That’s what it’s there for because it just happens there was a demand for such an option.

Brady Klinger-Meyers is an experienced tech writer and marketer who currently writes for Techzillo as well as other popular sites like MakeUseOf. At Techzillo, he focuses on consumer technology in general with his interest being Android OS. Read our Editorial Guidlines and Fact Checking process.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here