Are you thinking to delete the iCloud backup? One of the primary reasons why people delete backups is to clear the storage space. For instance, if you have new data to back up but your iCloud storage is full then you will need to delete the old backup to accommodate the new back up. You may have the same or other reasons to delete the iCloud backup, but do you know what happens when you delete the iCloud backup? Here is a complete guideline on how to delete the backups, what effects do they have, and how to manage backups.
How to Delete the iCloud Backup?
If you have decided to delete the backup but do not know how to do it, you just need to follow the steps mentioned below.
1. Go to the Settings on your iPhone.
2. Tap on your Apple ID.
3. Choose the option iCloud.
4. Next, choose the option Manage Storage.
5. Choose the option backup followed by choosing the device (if applicable).
6. Hit the option Delete Backup, confirm your action, and that is it. Your backup has been deleted.
What Happens When You Delete iCloud Backup:
Stating the obvious, but deleting the backup will permanently erase all the data that resides within that backup. In simple words, you won’t be able to recover that data if you decide to reset your iPhone and set it up using the iCloud backup. You may have to take assistance from the third-party tools if you wish to recover that deleted backup data but there is no guarantee of their authenticity.
If you wish to delete any backup then the first thing you should do is to export that backup on your computer. Doing that will allow you to recover it if you need it later. Secondly, when you delete your iCloud backup, the data you synced to iCloud.com or with other iOS devices will not be influenced. Some people worry about the data they have synced to iCloud will be erased. Just to clear this misconception, the data you sync using iCloud and the data you back up to iCloud are entirely different, and they do not have any influence on each other.
Another misconception that needs to be clarified is that many people think that deleting the iCloud backup will also delete the photos. The photos on the iOS device are never only stored in the backup. What would be stored in the backup are deleted pictures that you no longer have in the camera roll/albums. So, instead of deleting the entire backup to make space in iCloud, you can choose to just not back up your camera roll until such time as you can get all the camera roll photos backed up elsewhere.
Also, if you have changed or upgraded the device and are using the same Apple ID then the backup of the old device would also appear in the Backups. If you want to free up some space on iCloud then you can consider deleting the old backups instead of new ones. Deleting your old iPhone backup from iCloud is completely safe and won’t affect any of the data on your actual iPhone.
It is safe to say that the most common reason why people delete the backups is to free up the iCloud storage. It is also clear that deleting backup also erases the data inside it. So, instead of deleting the backups, users can buy extra storage space which is as cheap as $0.99/month for 50 GB. Additionally, if you do not want to spend any money then you can transfer the backup data on the computer before deleting it. You can also transfer selective data from backups using the third-party tools.