hen someone has Quiet Mode activated for their account and you attempt to message them, you will likely see a message roughly stating “Wasn’t notified about this message because they’re in Quiet Mode.”
Along with this, on the bottom left of their profile icon in your DMs, you might see a moon icon. Down below I’ll answer why Instagram says this and what you can do about it.
What Does Wasn’t Notified About This Message Because They’re In Quiet Mode Mean?
When you attempt to message someone on the Instagram app and you see a message saying something to the effect of, “Wasn’t notified about this message because they’re in Quiet Mode” it essentially means what the message prompt says.
See, when someone enables the Quiet Mode account setting or has set a timer for Quiet Mode that has been triggered, any notifications (including messages) will not be sent to them.
This means that your message on the Instagram app will be sent; however, the person you sent the message to will not be notified. They will not know you have messaged them until they open Instagram.
This also applies to auto-replies since when an Instagram account is in Quiet Mode, all auto-reply messages will be sent to their direct messages (DMs).
You can tell when one of your friends has their Instagram account in Quiet Mode since you can simply see a crescent moon icon on the right of their profile picture in your direct messages (DMs) section.
This is a quick and easy way to tell when someone has Quiet Mode enabled for their account on the Instagram app. Sure, you can still send them a message but they will not be notified while their account is in Quiet Mode.
How Do I Notify Them About The Message I Sent Even Though They’re In Quiet Mode?
Unfortunately, you cannot notify them that you sent them a message on the Instagram app. When someone enables Quiet Mode for their Instagram account, they will not be notified for any reason during that duration.
This means that there is no way for you to notify them that you have messaged them on the Instagram app. However, you could try notifying them about the message you sent some other way such as calling them (not through Instagram) or messaging them on a different social media platform such as Snapchat or Facebook.
Keep in mind that people usually use the Quiet Mode account setting when they do not want to be disturbed or currently do not want to be on their phone so there is a good chance you will not be able to reach them.
This is because Instagram came out with the Quiet Mode account setting mostly to fight against smartphone addiction, which means that the person you are attempting to message is likely trying to avoid going on their phone.
With that said Instagram is not the only place or way you can get a hold of someone. As previously mentioned, you can try calling them via your smartphone’s Phone app or message them elsewhere.
If I Send Them A Message What Happens?
For as long as their Instagram account is in Quiet Mode they will not be notified that you have messaged them. They will only see that you have messaged them if they open your chat with them on Instagram.
While this might be inconvenient or frustrating, it also means that the “Quiet Mode” account setting is working as it should. The newly released Quiet Mode is an account setting on the Instagram app that every user can use to essentially silence notifications from the app.
What’s more, is that auto-replies will be sent to their direct messages (DMs), which means that the user will not be bothered or alerted by Instagram while Quiet Mode is enabled for their account.