When installing free apps in the App Store, there are times when you’re going to see one of either pop-ups.

For example, you can see:

  • ‘Verification Required’
  • ‘Tap Continue and sign in to view billing information’
  • Or, ‘Verification Required’
  • ‘Before you can make purchases, you must tap Continue to verify your payment info.’

This situation is weird because it happens when you’re trying to install free and not paid apps in the App Store. You start thinking to yourself ‘I thought this app was free, why do I have to verify my payment info’.

This problem has happened to me several times but the good news for you is that I know why it’s happening and I know the possible solutions to fix this problem.

The Reason why the Verification Required Error is Popping up

The reason why the Verification required is prompting you to sign in and view your billing information or to verify your payment info can be one of the serval reasons. This message stops you from downloading any apps and it can be very annoying.

The first reason why you’re going to see this message is that you have an unpaid balance. This means that there’s something you haven’t paid for or there’s something that needs to be paid for, but you didn’t have sufficient funds in your account.

For example, you’ve gone to pay for Apple Music and the payment went through, but your account is on minus because you didn’t have enough money. The next reason why you’re going to see this message is that your payment method isn’t up to date.

If you’re using an old payment method that isn’t recognized anymore by your iPhone or iPad, you’re going to receive the prompt message in the App Store asking you to view payment info. This is essentially asking you to update your payment info.

The last possible reason why you could be receiving the message may be a few settings you’ve made in the Settings app which is causing the pop up on the App Store.

Remove your Payment Method

The first step to take in this situation is to remove your payment method from the App Store. This is the best way to get rid of the problem because there is no payment info to view.

I mean, your iPhone or iPad can’t ask you to view your payment method if you don’t have one. When you remove your payment method, you won’t be able to make purchases on your iOS device.

For example, your Apple music may stop because there’s no payment method or you won’t be able to download anymore paid apps in the App Store.

To get rid of your payment information:

  1. Tap Settings
  2. Tap iTunes & App Store
  3. Tap on Apple ID (You might need to sign in with your Apple ID)
  4. Tap View Apple ID
  5. Tap Payment Information
  6. Change your information
  7. Tap on None

If you don’t see the option None, there may be an unpaid item you’ve purchased with Apple. You’ll need to pay for the item or you’ll need to cancel it.

Wipe App Stores Cache

If you’ve removed the payment method from the App store and you still see the pop-up, the next thing you need to do is to clear the App Stores cache.

Since the problem is happening with the App Store, it would make sense to clear the cache to try and get rid of the issue. The App Store cache are files that are stored about the App store on your device.

These files contain information that isn’t very useful therefore clearing them isn’t going to cause any issues and if anything, it’s going to fix some issues.

To clear the App Stores cache:

  1. Go to the App Store
  2. Look at the Apps icon at the bottom
  3. Tap on it 10 times repeatedly
  4. Close the app from the background and click on it again

When you clear the cache, you’re not going to see a pop up telling you that you’ve just cleared the cache, it’ going to happen in the background. After you’ve done this, you need to go back to the App Store and try and install the app again.

Reset all Settings

If none of the steps above has stopped the verification required message from coming up, the next thing you need to do is to reset all settings. There could be a preference setting in the Settings app that’s stopping you from downloading the app.

Reset all settings is going to wipe all the settings in the Settings app meaning that you’ll have to enter all the information you had there before.

To wipe all settings:

  1. Go to the settings app
  2. Tap on General
  3. Click on reset at the bottom
  4. Click on Reset All Settings

Once you’ve done this, you’ll need to confirm your decision by entering your password. Your device is now going to restart and wipe all of your settings.

When your iPhone reboots, you need to go back to the App Store and see if you can download the app without the verification required message coming up again.