You’ve just sent a message on Instagram then unsent it, now you’re wondering if someone can see this message in their notifications or in their inbox.
You may have just sent a cringy message and you want to know if people can still see it after you’ve deleted it – everyone’s experienced this problem so you’re not alone.
In this article, I’m going to show you what happens when you send a message to someone then unsend it.
If you Unsend a Message on Instagram, will they still see it in their Notifications?
If you send someone a direct message then unsend it, they can’t see it anymore because it will be deleted in their DMs and the notification would be deleted.
They would still get a notification that you sent a message, but when it’s unsent, the notification text would change to ‘This message has been unsent’.
When they open the notification that says that the message was unsent, they won’t see anything when they open the chat with you – it will look like nothing was ever sent.
This means that the person you sent it to would never be able to know what you sent them unless they saw the actual message or the notification before the message was unsent.
If you unsend the message as soon as it was sent, they may just receive the ‘This message has been unsent’ notification before seeing the message notification.
If I Unsend a Message, Will the Other person see it in their DM
When you delete a direct message on Instagram, the other person won’t be able to see it in their DMs.
Unsending a message doesn’t archive it, it fully deletes the message from you and the other persons Instagram, so they’ll never see it again.
Deleting your chat, however, isn’t going to delete the chat for the other person.
When you delete the whole chat between someone else, they can see the chat because it’s been archived on your end, not theirs.
This Message has Been Unsent Meaning
The ‘this message has been unsent’ notification means that someone has just unsent a message that they sent you.
The notification you received with the actual message has been deleted and it’s been replaced with ‘this message has been unsent’ because the person has just unsent the message.
This means that there’s no trace of the message anywhere.
Why can’t I Unsend a Message on Instagram
When you click the unsend button to unsend a message on Instagram, there can be an error that stops the message from being sent.
The main reason that will prevent you from un-sending this message is either that you have no internet connection or that Instagram has blocked you from this action.
The first thing you can do to fix this is to change from WIFI to data.
When you change from Wi-Fi to data, you’re switching to a reliable source of the internet.
If there was something wrong with your WIFI, switching will help you get rid of this issue and it will allow you to unsend the message in your Instagram DM.
The bottom line is that after you’ve unsent a message on Instagram, there’s no way that the other person can see this message – this means that they can’t see it in their inbox and they can’t see it in their notifications.
If you liked this article, share it.