How to turn off location tracking on your iPhone

Most of iPhone users know that almost every major iOS app uses location services to provide better functionality. Moreover, if location services have been enabled then your iPhone’ weather app will automatically show you the weather of the current location. Likewise, shopping, movie shows, and events related activities have also been made easier with the location services feature.

All in all, it is one excellent feature that massively improves the iPhone functionality. However, recent events regarding users’ data leakage have made many people change their approval of getting tracked everywhere they go. The data extracted via location tracking is precise and that makes the users feel vulnerable while using some apps.

Additionally, some apps that use location tracking forward your personal data to selling companies. These companies then reach out for you to push hyper-targeted ads to your phones. It could become really annoying for most of the users when ads are pushed down their throats without their consent. iOS users, however, are better protected than Android users in this context but still, it doesn’t satisfy a lot of users.

The only way to keep yourself protected from this vulnerability is to disable location tracking entirely or partially. Doing this will not let the app track your movements and hence no data would be sent out either. Disabling location tracking entirely will save you from a lot of trouble but it will also make you miss on some important things too. Anyway, here is a guideline on how to turn off location tracking on the iPhone.

Disable Location Tracking entirely:

1. Go to the Settings on your iPhone.

2. Locate the option Privacy and tap on it.
Tap on the option Location Services

3. Tap on the option Location Services.
toggle Location Services

4. On the next screen, you will be able to toggle Location Services. Toggling off means that the feature will be disabled and no iOS app will be able to use it.

On the same screen, you will see another option called Share My Location. This feature usually comes handy when you desire to send your exact location to friends through messages. It can be really helpful in emergencies too. However, this feature also plays its part in some apps so you may have to disable it as well if you want a complete disability of location tracking.

Disable Location Tracking for Particular Apps:

As mentioned earlier, disabling the location tracking completely may affect the functionality of some apps. You need location services for most apps but you do not need them all the time. You can enable them only when using the apps. Most iPhone apps which support location services usually asks at installation if you always want location tracking turned on, if you only want it turned on while using the app, or if you never want to turn it on.

The best thing, however, is that you can always change the settings later too. It is not like that you are bound to the settings that you have chosen initially. Here is what you need to do:

1. Go to the Settings on your iPhone.

2. Locate the option Privacy and tap on it.

3. Tap on the option Location Services.
While Using the App or Never

4. Now you will be able to see all apps that are using/partially using the location services. Some apps/features will only have two options; While Using the App or Never. The remaining ones will give you three options; Always, Never, While Using the App.

5. You will be able to choose the option as per your preference. Make sure that you allow the feature App Store to use location Always. Other than that, you can choose While Using the App or Never. It totally depends on how you want it to be.

Disable Location for iPhone:

You just read how to disable/partially disable location services for different apps. However, Your iPhone also keeps track of the locations you visit the most. Doing this allows the iPhone to provide you with better functionality overall. Importantly, this data is completely safe and never leaves your phone. Still, if you desire to disable location services for iPhone then you can do that by:

1. Go to the Settings on your iPhone.

2. Locate the option Privacy and tap on it.

3. Tap on the option Location Services.

4. Scroll down to the very bottom of your screen. You will see the option System Services. Tap on it.
locate the option Significant Locations

5. Again, scroll down to the bottom of the screen and locate the option Significant Locations. Tap on it and provide either your Touch ID or passcode to enter the next screen.
disable the Significant Locations

6. Now if you desire to entirely disable the Significant Locations then all you need to do is to toggle off this option on the screen.

7. Alternatively, you can tap different locations (you frequently visit) and then delete them by using the Edit option at the top-right of the screen.

It is recommended that you shouldn’t disable this feature entirely as it plays a vital role in location-oriented suggestions while you are using Siri or any other feature. Also, there is no reason why you should disable this feature as it remains encrypted within the iPhone. If you still want to disable it then you may find location-based suggestions incorrect or unclear.