At one point or another, you may have felt the sting of someone deleting you on Snapchat. When you use Snapchat regularly, it’s bound to happen and, quite frankly, it will happen again and again. But mankind is curious by nature and the burning question as to who deleted you on Snapchat is a hard question to resist.

There is a method, but it isn’t a direct method. In order to know, you have to read between the lines.

Why Would Someone Delete You on Snapchat

If you think you’ve been removed on Snapchat, it’s best not to take it personally especially if you don’t know the person. Snapchat is an app that you use to talk to friends and if you don’t converse with someone much, there’s a reason for them to remove you. If you’re suspicious that someone you speak to has removed you, then there are a few ways that you can know if they’ve removed you.

How to Know If Someone Deleted You on Snapchat

If someone has deleted you on Snapchat, there are different ways you can use to find out such as checking your Snapchat score with them, sending them a snap, and checking if their snap name is still there. Doing all 3 at once is a sure-fire way to know if they’ve removed you as a friend on Snapchat.

1. Check If Their Profile is Still There

If someone’s profile has gone, it means that they’ve deleted their Snapchat account, meaning you no longer have them as a friend, or that they’ve blocked you and deleted you as a friend. If you search for their name and it’s no longer there, then this means that you no longer have them as a friend.

2. Use Snap Score to Determine a Friendship Termination

You see, Snapchat doesn’t outright tell you that a friend has deleted you on Snapchat. In fact, the Snapchat app doesn’t even notify you of any friendship terminations. You have to find out indirectly.

The problem is, it can be very tedious work. To make matters worse, because of the fact that you aren’t notified when someone deletes you, that person will still show up in your list of friends, but on the flip side, you won’t show up on their list of friends.

Quite frankly, it’s very passive-aggressive for Snapchat to not even notify you of a friendship ending. It would certainly be nice to know something like that.

1. Locate and launch the ‘Snapchat’ app. It’s a white bell against a neon yellow backdrop. If you recently installed the Snapchat app, it should be somewhere on one of your Home screens, but if it isn’t, check your App Drawer which houses every single app currently installed on your device.

2. Log into Snapchat with your username and password or email and password associated with the account you have concerns about a particular friendship with.

Friends

3. Open up the ‘Friends’ page. You can swipe right while you’re on the camera screen to open the Friends list or you can simply tap ‘Friends’ at the bottom left corner of the screen. It’s a small chat bubble icon labeled ‘Friends.’

4. In your list of friends, locate the person you think may have deleted you on Snapchat and select their name by tapping and holding your finger on their name. This will open a window of options.

View friendship

5. In the list of options, tap ‘View Friendship’ at the very top of the list just below the person’s name. You’ll get redirected to their profile page.

Check the snapscore

6. Now you can view the person’s snap score. You can find it by looking just underneath the person’s name, next to their Snapchat tag. You’ll see their Snapchat tag, followed by a vertical line and then a number.

However, here’s the catch: you can’t see the snap score if they aren’t friends with you. So, if you don’t see one, then they’ve deleted you on Snapchat. If you do see a snap score, then you’re still in the green.

If you were unfortunate enough to be deleted from someone’s Snapchat, don’t worry yet. You might be experiencing a bug. On rare occasions, the person’s snap score may have bug out and disappear. In that case, sending the person a Snap can actually fix the problem. Head over to the next section to get the scoop on that.

For iOS Users:

The Snapchat app on iOS devices comes with an additional tag that you won’t see if you’re using an Android device to view Snapchat. During Step 6, on an iOS device, an additional tag can be seen to the right of the person’s snap score.

It’s labeled ‘Added.’ This ‘Added’ tag means you have the person added but they don’t have you added. In other words, if you were friends with someone and then you start seeing the ‘Added’ tag, they’ve deleted you.

3. Determine Friendship Termination with a ‘Test’ Snap

If you want to double-check that you’ve actually been deleted off of someone’s Snapchat, you can try sending a Snap and use Snapchat’s icon that displays a message sent to determine if you’ve been deleted or not. Here’s what you do:

1. Locate and launch the ‘Snapchat’ app. It’s a white bell against a neon yellow backdrop. If you recently installed the Snapchat app, it should be somewhere on one of your Home screens, but if it isn’t, check your App Drawer which houses every single app currently installed on your device.

2. Log into Snapchat with your username and password or email and password associated with the account you have concerns about a particular friendship with.

3. Take a ‘Snap,’ the communities term for taking a picture for Snapchat. If you don’t want to alert someone that you’re probing your friendship, you can always mask your intentions by sending an actual Snap you would like to send them.

4. Send the Snap to the person.

5. Open up the ‘Friends’ page. You can swipe right while you’re on the camera screen to open the Friends list or you can simply tap ‘Friends’ at the bottom left corner of the screen. It’s a small chat bubble icon labeled ‘Friends.’

6. Whenever you send a Snap to a person, and they successfully get it, a small red arrow will appear in the conversation. That person can view the Snap and respond accordingly.

However, if the arrow is grey, rather than red, then you;re experiencing the unfortunate event of someone deleting you on Snapchat. If you see ‘Pending’ rather than ‘Delivered,’ then the termination is on their end. You are no longer their friend.

7. You can double-check by refreshing the page. Take your finger and press it against the screen and simultaneously dragging your finger down, then let go. This will refresh your conversations. Do a few times if you want to triple-check.

The important thing to take away from this truly sad moment is they’re millions of other people to Snap with. When one chapter ends, another begins and your book will have dozens of chapters.

Nothing good will come from confronting someone. They deleted you for a reason they deemed important enough to cut the cord. The best course of action you can take is respecting their decision and moving on. After all, Snapchat is all about making new friends.