How to Stop Sharing Call History Between Other iPhones

On your iPhone, the Phone app allows you to display all of your recent calls. If you have two iPhone, which may be in the same household, you may see calls on your other iPhone that you didn’t make or receive. If you look at the iPhone that you frequently make and receive calls on, it will match with the iPhone that you don’t use for calls.

Although you didn’t make a call on the other iPhone, your iPhone will share the call history with other devices signed into the same Apple ID. This can be annoying because only calls made and received on one device should stay on that device – having call history on both iPhones when they weren’t made or receiving on both iPhone is misleading information.

Especially if someone else the other phone and they’re seeing a call history that doesn’t match with the calls they’re made.

iCloud Drive

Apple ID is the account your log into if you want to get the most out of your iOS device. It requires an Apple ID and it holds personal information such as your card details. Apple ID allows you to purchase apps, movies, music, books, and podcasts. Apple ID also allows you to log into your iCloud so you can sync information between all your other devices.

iCloud is Apple’s cloud storage solution and it allows apps to store documents on the internet which allow you to access those files from multiple devices, such as your iPhone, iPad, and Mac. For example, if you send messages using iMessage on your iPhone if iCloud drive between your other devices are linked, you can access the iMessage from your iPad and Mac.

When two devices are logged in using the same Apple ID, the information on both devices will be automatically synced depending on which apps you’ve allowed to use iCloud. If two devices are logged in using the same Apple ID the call history will be shared on both devices because iCloud for both devices is turned on.

How to Stop Sharing Call History

There are a few ways to fix this issue. One is to log out of iCloud completely and the other is just to stop iCloud from syncing on both devices.

Even if you’re not signed in using the same Apple ID for both devices, if you use the same email associated with iCloud for apps like FaceTime, the call history may still show up on the other iPhone that’s not logged into iCloud because both devices are using the same email addresses associated with the devices that are logged into iCloud.

Sign Out of iCloud on The Secondary iPhone

To sign out of iCloud

1. Go to Settings > [your name].

tap Sign Out

2. Scroll down and tap Sign Out.

3. Enter your Apple ID password and tap Turn Off.

4. Turn on the data that you want to keep a copy of on your device.

5. Tap Sign Out. Another pop-up will appear.

6. Tap Sign Out to confirm that you want to sign out of iCloud.

To remove iCloud email from FaceTime:

1. Go to Settings.

Tap on FaceTime

2. Tap on FaceTime.

Uncheck the email address that’s the same as iCloud. This is under Caller ID and your number should be selected instead of the iCloud email address. This should stop the recent call history from showing up on other devices.

Disable iCloud Drive On The Other iPhone

Another way to stop your call history sharing to another Apple device is to turn off iCloud Drive on the device you don’t want your recent call history to appear on. This means that you don’t have to log out of iCloud just to stop the call sharing feature. Logging out of iCloud can reduce your iPhone’s capabilities so it’s best just to turn off iCloud Drive.

To turn off iCloud

1. Go to Settings > [your name].

tap Sign Out

2. Select iCloud.

3. Toggle off iCloud drive.

Turning iCloud off will remove all iCloud Drive documents and data from the secondary device that you don’t want your call history to be shared on. But it’ll keep other aspects of the syncing intact like your contacts for example. Also, your data in the cloud will not be affected by this change.

Does This Have Anything To Do With Family Sharing?

Family Sharing lets you and up to five other family members share access to Apple services like Apple Music etc. Because this is a service that’s based on sharing things to other iPhones, you may think that this is why your recent call history is showing up on other iPhones. Having family sharing enabled doesn’t cause this problem so there’s no reason to turn it off.