How to Use Geofilters on Snapchatto Remove Someone from a Snapchat Group

When it comes to talking to multiple people at once, Snapchat didn’t always have a group chat, like Facebook has. The way it worked was you could create a Snap, or video Snap, and send that single Snap to multiple people. Of course, that introduces the problem of then having to respond to each responder separately. So why bother, right? It was a painful experience until group chat was added, wherein, you could add a number of mutual friends to a group.

And then group chat added yet another problem into the mix. You see, Snapchat’s group chat is great for the most part, but it does come with a few limitations; Snapchat groups are more like group-lite. Let’s break down the issues with Snapchat’s group chat.

What Snapchat Group Has To Offer

For starters, the group feature itself works wonderfully. Any Snaps and video Snaps you send in the group can be viewed by everyone; no more tapping every single individual person to send a single Snap to. And since it’s a group chat, everyone can respond and interact with the Snaps and you can then respond to them accordingly. A total of 32 unique individuals can belong do a Snapchat group.

Of course, since it’s Snapchat, any and all Snaps will disappear after they’ve been viewed by the members of the group, not by everyone, mind you. If a Snap is sent to a group and only ten out of twenty people checked it out, the other ten people that haven’t will still have the option to view the Snap, while the ten who already did, can’t. Not necessarily a drawback considering that’s the gimmick Snapchat offers right out of the gate and is entirely understood by the Snapchat community.

The first strike against Snapchat groups, arguably, is its 24 hour time limit. This can be a problem for some. The problem is any Snaps or video Snaps that weren’t viewed by some individuals, and the group has already dissolved after 24 hours, you can’t view those Snaps; the group no longer exists, nor do the messages.

If you miss a Snap that was directed towards you, well, you can’t retrieve it. In fact, every single Snap sent in the group goes bye-bye when its 24-hour time limit is up. And if you leave before the group ends, your Snaps are removed from the entire conversation. That can be rather annoying, but again, that’s the function of Snapchat.

When you’ve created a group and someone starts to get rowdy, the first move you want to make is removing them from a group. Well, that would be nice if you could do it. Therein lies the biggest problem Snapchat groups have: you can’t remove someone from the Snapchat group. And it deserves an entire section.

When You Need to Remove Someone

People are annoying. There’s no debating that. People can be obnoxious, annoying and, frankly, you don’t always want to converse with people. Would you want people like that having control over your group? Well, they do with Snapchat’s group function.

Generally speaking, social media platforms that introduce a group chat function, like Facebook, give all the power to the person who created the group. They can make changes to the group whenever they think it’s needed. But when it comes to a Snapchat group, anyone can make changes; they can rename the group; they can add new people whenever they want to and generally make a mess of the group settings.

It doesn’t look very good, does it? But there’s still hope; you just have to use some of the workarounds.

1. Ask Them to Leave

The most straightforward solution to the problem: tell them to leave, preferably in a kind manner. You aren’t looking to incite drama, but regardless of how it’s done it will hurt feelings anyways. If you do it now, you can get it out of the way and keep the Snaps in the chat. Some people will gladly leave when they aren’t wanted and others will stick around for the sake of trolling. If you happen to have someone in your group that’s more of the latter, then move onto the next stage.

2. Ignore and Wait for the Storm to Pass

Use the 24-hour time limit to your advantage. Coordinate with the other members of the group to cease their Snaps and just let the group die. If they won’t leave, then they can enjoy trolling themselves.

After 24 hours have passed, and the group is dead, simply create another group. The downside is any Snaps that weren’t viewed are, admittedly, gone in the style of Snapchat. The next time you create a group, you leave that person out of the loop and they can’t join unless someone else invites them. In many situations, it does seem rude, but some individuals won’t leave when you ask them to for the sake of causing drama. Desperate times call for desperate measures.

Bottom Line

Snapchat groups could avoid this whole fiasco if there were a function for removing unwanted individuals, perhaps through a diplomatic style, like a vote. If, say, 50% of a group wants someone gone, they could throw a vote and do that. But until something in-app is done, one has to resort to other means of removing someone from a Snapchat group.