Snapchat Sound Not Working

There are very few reasons for why you need to log out of Snapchat, whether its account security or you’re ready to rid yourself of the Snapchat app. Snapchat makes it easy and convenient to log out of your Snapchat account through their app and website.

Logging Out of Snapchat

Logging Out of the Snapchat App:

1. Open the ‘Snapchat’ app. It’s the yellow square with a white icon resembling a bell.

2. Select the profile picture in the top left corner to open your profile page or, alternatively, swipe down while using the camera to open the profile page as well.

tap settings

3. Tap the small GEAR icon in the top left corner to open your account settings.

log out of Snapchat

4. Keep scrolling down until you locate ‘Log Out.’ Tap it.

5. If prompted to save your password, select ‘Skip.’ Afterwards, select ‘Log Out,’ again. You are now logged out of your Snapchat account.

Logging Out of Snapchat’s Account Management:

1. Head over to Snapchat’s account management website with your preferred web browser.

2. Log in with your username or email and password associated with your account.

log out in account management

3. Click the three horizontal lines located in the top right corner of the browser. ‘Log Out’ will appear in a new header.

4. Click ‘Log Out.’ You are now logged out of your Snapchat’s account management website.

Forgetting a Linked Device:

If you’ve lost a device that had your account linked to Snapchat, you can remove a device that is currently linked to your Snapchat account. This is a security risk if your device was stolen or lost as the finder could simply access your account.

However, before you can start forgetting linked devices, you’ll need to activate ‘Two-Factor Authentication,’ a step that Snapchat’s support page fails to mention. So, before you continue, set up a two-factor authentication for your device. It’s easy to do and adds a level of security to your account, especially if your previous device was stolen or lost. It makes it harder for an individual to just simply open Snapchat and mess with your account.

After you’ve created a two-factor authentication, you can forget a linked device like this:

1. Open the ‘Snapchat’ app. It’s the yellow square with a white icon resembling a bell.

2. Select the profile picture in the top left corner to open your profile page or, alternatively, swipe down while using the camera to open the profile page as well.

3. Tap the small GEAR icon in the top left corner to open your account settings.

4. Select ‘Two-Factor Authentication’ from the list of settings.

Forget Devices

5. From the menu, tap ‘Forget Devices.’

6. Any devices currently linked to your account will be listed. Press the ‘X’ next to the device you’d like to unlink or, alternatively, you can select ‘Forget All Devices’ if you would like to close your account for good.

Deleting your Snapchat Account

Delete Account through Snapchat’s Account Management Site:

1. Head over to Snapchat’s account management website with your preferred web browser.

2. Log in with your username or email and password associated with your account.

Delete my account

3. Under ‘Manage My Account,’ there’s several options to choose from. You want to focus on ‘DELETE MY ACCOUNT.’ Click it.

4. Before you can delete you account, you must provide your password. Click ‘Continue’ once you’ve provided the correct account information.

Important: Your account will become deactivated for 30 days and when those 30 days are up, it will be deleted for good. However, you can reactivate your account and cancel the account deletion by logging into your account through the Snapchat app.

Delete Snapchat Account through the Snapchat App:

1. Open the ‘Snapchat’ app. It’s the yellow square with a white icon resembling a bell.

2. Select the profile picture in the top left corner to open your profile page or, alternatively, swipe down while using the camera to open the profile page as well.

3. Tap the small GEAR icon in the top left corner to open your account settings.

4. Keep scrolling until you locate the section ‘Support.’ Under Support you’ll see ‘Help Center.’ Select it.

5. Keep scrolling until you find ‘My Account & Security.’ Select it. This will open more settings.

6. Tap ‘Account information.’ This will open, yet again, more settings.

Delete my account

7. Select ‘Delete My Account.’ You will be brought to a helpful page that breaks down the account deletion process.

8. Scroll to the section ‘How to delete your Snapchat account.’ Tap the small link labeled ‘accounts portal.’ You’ll be sent to another window. This will start the account deletion process.

9. Before you can delete your account, you must provide your password. Click ‘Continue’ once you’ve provided the correct account information.

Important: Your account will become deactivated for 30 days and when those 30 days are up, it will be deleted for good. However, you can reactivate your account and cancel the account deletion by logging into your account through the Snapchat app.