How to Know if Someone’s Blocked You on Instagram

0
User blocked

You’ve recently just broken up with your ex and you can’t help but visit their Instagram profile once in a while just to check up on them – everyone’s guilty of this so you’re not alone.

After snooping for a while, you’ve noticed that you haven’t seen their pictures on your feed for a long time. This is where you start to have suspicions as to whether they’ve blocked you or not.

1. Search for Their Username on Instagram

The first and most reliable way to find out if you’ve been blocked on Instagram is by checking if you can find their name in the search results.

When you search for someone’s Instagram username, their account usually comes up after typing the first few letters. This only works if you have any history with the account.

Blocked on Instagram

If you search up every part of their username on Instagram and they don’t show up, you’ve been blocked – this only happens if their account is on private.

If you search for their name and you find their account, but you see a message on their profile saying, ‘No Posts Yet’, you’ve been blocked.

2. Find Them in a Tagged Photo

The next thing you can do to find out if you’ve been blocked is by looking for their tagged username in a picture. You can do this by going on their best friends Instagram account and looking for a photo that includes both of them.

If they have tagged the person you think may have blocked you, you need to click on their tag and check if you can see their pictures.

If you see the term No Post Yet, they’ve unfortunately blocked you.

3. Look for Them in a Comment Section

If you can’t find a tagged picture of them, you can try and look for their profile in a comment section. If you know that they follow someone, or you know a post that they’ve commented on, you can go back to that post and look for their username.

If you’ve found their username underneath a picture, you can click on their name and check if they’ve blocked you.

If they did block you, you’re going to see the message ‘No Posts Yet’ when you click on their profile.

How to Know if Someone’s Blocked me If I’ve Blocked Them

If you’ve blocked someone and you want to have a chance of finding out of they’ve blocked you, you’ll need to unblock them.

After you’ve unblocked them, you should try and look for them in a tagged picture and if you see the term ‘No Post Yet’ when you click on their account, they have blocked you.

David Johnson is a freelance writer with 9 years of experience writing for Techzillo and other established tech outlets like iMore. His focus and key interests are Apple and accessibility as well as consumer technology in general. Read our Editorial Guidlines and Fact Checking process.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here