If Someone Blocked Me In Their Contacts, Will This Block Me On WhatsApp?

Blocking a phone number on the phone will not prevent the person from contacting you through third-party applications such as Instagram, Facebook, and WhatsApp. Still, it will create a barrier between you and the person regarding the phone’s principal modes of communication, such as texting and calling. Whenever you choose to block a phone number on your iPhone, the banned caller will get sent directly to your voicemail – this is the only indication that they have been blocked. When a blocked contact tries to Facetime you, the call will just ring and ring without a response. The person on the receiving end will not even be aware that they are being contacted.

The caller can still leave you a voicemail, but it will not appear in your inbox with your other messages. You can only access the “Blocked Messages” tab by scrolling down to the bottom of the voicemail window and tapping it. On an Android phone, once you block someone, they will not contact you directly, but they can contact you through third-party apps.

The difference between blocking someone’s phone number and blocking someone on third-party apps like WhatsApp is just too significant. It is not related in any way. If someone directly bans your phone number, you may still send them a text message over WhatsApp, as the app does not automatically block anybody. In addition, if someone bans you on WhatsApp, you may contact them by phone or text message. If you want to cut all communication with the person, you need to block them on the phone and all the apps you use to communicate with the person.

How To Know If Someone Has Blocked Me on WhatsApp?

When someone blocks you, you do not get a notification. To know whether someone has blocked you or not, these are the signs to look out for:

Any Phone Calls That You Attempt to Make Will Not Go Through

You will not get through when you attempt to call a person who has blocked you on WhatsApp. Regardless of how many times you try to reach the person, the phone will call until it drops off.

The Status of Any Messages Will Always Display One Checkmark

When some people try to message one of their contacts, they may find that they are no longer responding to their messages. When someone on Whatsapp doesn’t respond, there are various reasons. They could be too busy to respond or have uninstalled the program. If your message does not arrive, the recipient cannot connect to the internet since you require a solid internet connection to receive WhatsApp messages. On the other hand, you may have been blocked if the text did not arrive after a week.

You Will Not Be Able to View Any Changes to A Contact’s Profile Photo

When someone blocks you, their profile pictures are not visible to you. You will see the last profile picture, or you will see no profile picture.

You Will No Longer Know When A Contact Was Last Seen or If They Are Online

Last seen lets you know when a contact was last online. Some users opt to remove this information, but if you could see it before and you can’t anymore, there is a high possibility you would have been blocked. The last seen dialogue box also shows if someone is online, but once you are blocked, you will not be able to see if the contact is online or not.

While there could be an explanation for no last seen, no profile picture, no status updates, or your WhatsApp call not going through, all these signs combined indicate that you are blocked.

If I Cannot Contact A Person Have I Been Blocked?

Remember that being blocked isn’t the only reason you can not get a hold of someone on WhatsApp. Some of the reasons you can be failing to get ahold of someone include:

A bad internet connection – If someone is not connected to the internet, they will not use WhatsApp. The messages you send will not deliver, and the call you make may not go through.

The phone is off – When someone’s phone is off, you will not be able to get ahold of them because they won’t get connected to the WhatsApp servers.

They uninstalled WhatsApp – When someone uninstalls the app on their phone, you may think you have been blocked because there will be no status updates, and the messages will not deliver.

A person can only face the above challenges for a short time, so if it has been days or weeks of messages that don’t deliver and calls that don’t ring, you have indeed gotten blocked.