WhatsApp is a communication platform that allows you to add your friends to your contacts them from there you can send messages to each other, make group chats, send voice notes, GIFs, and photos and videos from your camera roll.

On WhatsApp, you could send messages back and forth but now like Instagram and Facebook, you can also upload statuses. Statuses are a feature that allows people to take a video or photo of what they’re doing, then upload it to their status for friends to see. You can even upload an old photo or video to your status if you’re not doing anything interesting now.

All of your statuses are arranged at the top of WhatsApp and you have the option to watch statuses individually or watch them continuously by tapping on the right of statuses – this allows you to go to the next status without having to wait for the current one to finish.

How to View Someone’s WhatsApp Status Without them Knowing

If you’ve accidentally watched someone’s status and you don’t want them to know you’ve watched it, this can leave you in an awkward situation. Or you may be eager to view someone’s status, but you don’t want them to know.

When you view someone’s status, your name comes up in a list of people that have viewed their status. To view a status without them know, you’ll either have to remove yourself from the list, or not come up on the list in the first place.

Airplane Mode

The first way to watch someone’s status without them know is by putting your phone on Airplane mode. When your phone is on airplane mode, your device won’t be connected to the internet, so WhatsApp won’t be able to register that you’ve viewed someone’s status.

Once your phone is on airplane mode, then you need to refresh your WhatsApp. Once refreshed, tap on the status and watch it. You can now turn your phone off airplane mode and the person won’t be able to tell that you watched their status.

Half Swiping

On the status before the person’s status you want to view without them know, you can half swipe. This is when you swipe right from the previous story onto the next story without letting go. This means that you’re still one story whilst viewing the next one. But because you haven’t let go of your fingers, WhatsApp can’t register a view on that person’s status since you haven’t fully committed to watching it.

Blocking Them

If you’ve already viewed their status but you don’t want your name to come up on the list, then you can block them. Once the 24 hours is up, you can unblock them and add them as a friend. But this will be awkward. Once their blocked, your profile will be removed from the list of people who viewed their status.

Deactivate your account

Another way to do this without having to block them and add them again is to deactivate your account until the status is deleted. Your name will be removed off the list of people who viewed the profile because your profile has been temporarily deleted from WhatsApp. Once the status has been deleted, you can log into your WhatsApp account.

To deactivate your account:

  1. Open WhatsApp.
  2. Tap More options > Settings > Account > Delete my account.
  3. Enter your phone number in full international format and tap DELETE MY ACCOUNT.
  4. Select a reason for why you’re deleting your account in the dropdown.
  5. Tap DELETE MY ACCOUNT.

Note: if you try to log back in before their status has been deleted, then your profile will still be visible on the list of people who have viewed it.