How to Uninstall iTunes on Mac

Apple provides iPhones with a layer of security that leads them to get disabled often and easily. This usually happens accidentally since most people don’t forget their iPhone passcode. Even if your iPhone was stolen, thieves know that they’re unlikely to figure out the passcode. Usually they will instead factory reset your iPhone or sell it for parts. Once disabled, your iPhone will display a message that says iPhone is disabled connect to iTunes.

If you have children, you must be familiar with this problem. Often children mess around with our phones, try to guess the passcode and unwittingly disable the device. Or perhaps, you’ve members in your family who like to play practical jokes or are of the snooping type. These people may not realize that the iPhone only allows a limited number of guesses for the passcode, before disabling the device. Follow the guide below to see how many guesses it takes for your iPhone to get disabled.

6 incorrect passcode attempts: iPhone disabled for 1 minute.

7 incorrect passcode attempts: iPhone disabled for 5 minutes.

8 incorrect passcode attempts: iPhone disabled for 15 minutes.

9 incorrect passcode attempts: iPhone disabled for 60 minutes.

10 incorrect passcode attempts: iPhone is disabled connect to iTunes.

If you enter the same incorrect passcode over and over again, it will only count as one incorrect passcode attempt. Only by entering various different passcodes, will the above messages appear. Unfortunately, after ten failed passcode attempts, when your iPhone displays the message iPhone is disabled connect to iTunes, you won’t be able to unlock your phone without completely erasing its data.

Most people believe that taking their device to the Apple Store will lead to unlocking it without loss of data, however, this isn’t true. Apple service providers will inform you that you must delete all the data on your device in order to get it working again. While this tutorial does explain how to unlock your iPhone using iTunes, carrying out this process will also delete all of the data on your device.

However, if you recently backed up your device, you’ll be able to perform a quick restore, thereby, once again gaining access to your previously stored data. This is one of the many reasons why it’s always important to back up your device. If you haven’t previously backed up your data and your iPhone becomes disabled, you won’t be able to back up the data and will have to set up your phone as a new device.

Before you get started unlocking your device using iTunes, make sure that you’ve updated to the latest version of iTunes, as doing so will speed up the process. If your iTunes application is already up to date and you’re ready to start the process of unlocking your disabled device, follow the instructions below,

1. Launch iTunes on your computer.

2. Connect your iPhone to your computer using a USB cable.

3. Towards the top left of the ITunes window, choose the device icon.

4. Click on Summary.

Restore iPhone

5. Click on Restore iPhone.

6. Click on Restore once again in order to confirm that you would like to restore your device.

iTunes will now take some time to completely erase the contents of your device, while also installing the latest version of iOS. Your phone will restore to its factory settings and will be ready to use as new. If your screen remains dark, and you’re unsure whether the restore has completed, press the Home button.

If you see the setup screen, then the restore has completed and you can begin setting up your device. If you backed up your device to iTunes before it was disabled, you can select the Restore from iTunes backup during the setup process. Otherwise, if no such backup exists it’s best to disconnect your iPhone from your computer and begin setting it up.

You may once again sync it to iTunes after completing the setup process. This time around be sure to back up your device often, so if your children or nosy family members come around again and try to mess with your iPhone, you may surely lose your temper, but you can be sure that you won’t lose your data.