How to Tell If Someone Deactivated their Facebook

0

Facebook is one of the most popular social media platforms as it allows you to connect with friends and interact with them by liking, commenting, sharing and tagging them in pictures. Facebook also allows you to communicate with friends by messaging them and reply to stories. The story is a feature where you can take a photo or video of what you’re currently doing and upload it to your story.

Disable or Deleting your Account

If you find yourself bored with Facebook or your feed is no longer interesting, then there are a few ways you can go about this. You can either delete or deactivate your account. If you delete your account, it will be permanent and everything you’ve ever posted will be reset such as your statuses, likes, friends, followers, comments, and photos will be removed.

Disable your account is less permanent and allows you to take time off Facebook temporarily without losing your account. Deactivating your account will hide your statuses, comments, likes, pictures, and profiles until you reactivate your account again by logging in.

How to Know If Someone Deactivated Their Facebook

If you’ve tried to messenger someone and you’ve noticed that you can’t message the person, you probably assume that you’ve been blocked, however, this usually isn’t this case. If someone has deactivated their account, you also won’t be able to send them messages. There are a few ways to know if someone has deactivated their account rather than blocked you.

Ask Someone to Look for their Account

To know if someone deactivated their account, you can ask a friend to search for their profile and see if it comes up. If you do and their profile comes up, this means that you’ve been blocked, if it doesn’t, it means that they have deactivated their account. You can also ask them if the account has a profile picture if they search for the person’s name and they don’t see a profile at all then it means that the account is deactivated.

Check Your Messages

If you’ve messaged the person on Messenger before, then you can use this to tell if they’ve deactivated their account. If you recognize the message you’ve had with someone, but their name has been replaced with Facebook User, then their account has been deactivated. Also, if you view the messages and there’s no profile picture, then the account has been deactivated. When you try to click on their account, you won’t be able to visit their profile. At the bottom of the message you’ll see, you can’t reply to this conversation.

David Johnson is a freelance writer with 9 years of experience writing for Techzillo and other established tech outlets like iMore. His focus and key interests are Apple and accessibility as well as consumer technology in general. Read our Editorial Guidlines and Fact Checking process.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here