iPhone users know that Apple introduces iOS updates quite frequently. The reason why these frequent updates are necessary is the fact that they not only improve the functionality, but they address on-going issues like bugs or slowed device. Apple always recommends you to download and install the update as soon as it is available. Delaying it for no particular reason could be dangerous for your device.
You may already know the procedure of updating the iOS in iPhones. If you don’t, all you need to do is to visit settings and tap the option, General. From there you will see the option Software Update. You will have to tap on it and just follow the on-screen instruction. It will take some time depending on the size of the update and your internet speed. During the process, the iPhone will restart (twice or thrice sometimes) and once ready, your software would be updated.
In all this process, there is no option of canceling the update once it starts. So, if a user who wants to stop the update for any reason wouldn’t be able to do so. For example, if you come to realize midway that the file is too big for your storage space, or perhaps you need to make an emergency call or move somewhere but you cannot cancel the update as there is no option to do so.
Technically, saying that you cannot cancel an iOS update that’s in the process is wrong. Sure, there is no direct cancelation option to do so, but there is a way to cancel the iOS update while in progress. It is recommended that you should only cancel the updates when it is necessary as cancelling the updates every now and then could be damaging for the device’ software. Here is what you need to do:
Airplane Mode/Disconnect Wi-Fi:
You would have followed the procedure of downloading and installing the software which means that you will be on the Software Update screen. The process would be ongoing while your iPhone telling the estimated time remaining for the download to complete. To cancel this update straight away, all you need to do is to disconnect your Wi-Fi or enable the Airplane mode.
Once Wi-Fi is disconnected or Airplane mode is enabled the download will automatically stop. The download is dependent on internet connection and Apple doesn’t allow Software Update over the mobile data. Switching the internet off is the quickest way to cancel the software update that is in progress.
Delete the Software’ Data:
You have canceled the download halfway which means that either half or some part of the update will be downloaded on your iPhone. You can delete that partial update by going through the following steps:
1. Launch the Settings on your iPhone.
2. Tap on the option General.
3. Next, click on the option iPhone Storage.
4. Now scroll down until you can locate the latest software version file.
5. Now you will be able to delete the update by tapping the option Delete Update.
6. Hit Delete Update again on the pop-up box to confirm your action.
Now all the half-downloaded files on the device will be cleared. You will be able to update the software any time you want by following the same method. Removing the partially download update is necessary as it makes the update process easier (later) and it also frees up the storage space.
Apple has introduced this new feature by which iOS gets automatically updated. The reason why Apple introduced this feature was the fact that many iPhone users were delaying updates and hence they were facing a lot of software issues. Introduction of this feature ensured it that iPhone will automatically get a software update whenever it is connected to a device. However, it will ask your permission before starting the process.
On the downside, the automatic update means you will not be able to stop the update while in process. So, in case of an emergency or any other reason, you won’t be able to postpone the update as mentioned above. The best way to dodge this bullet is to disable this feature. You can do that by:
1. Go to the Settings on your iPhone.
2. Tap on the option General.
3. Next, tap Software Update.
4. Now tap on the option Automatic Update and toggle it off.
5. Now your iPhone won’t get updated automatically. You will have to follow the conventional procedure to do it manually.
These are the only methods that can be helpful if you wish to stop software update midway. As said earlier, it is acceptable to do this once or twice but making a habit out of it is not recommended. If you keep repeating the same method to stop the update progress midway then it can cause frequent software crashes with your device.
There are a few third-party apps that can help in deleting the update but they will not stop it midway. What they can do is downgrade the software once it is fully updated. They claim to be totally safe, but again, using these techniques is not recommended and can be dangerous.