Social media can seem very public. One of the best things about it is that you can control a lot of what social media shows you. Social media gives you the option to choose who you follow, choose who you’re friends with, and delete people from it when you no longer want them on it. Snapchat is a social media site where you can post videos and message your friends in a way that’s private and temporary, but if you don’t want someone seeing your post, it’s easy to remove them.
Because it’s easy to remove people, you might delete them by mistake. If you do, on Snapchat it’s not too hard to find them, especially if you know their name.
Finding deleted friends in Snapchat
Look in your Friends List
One of the best things about Snapchat is that recently delete friends will stay on your friends list for a short amount of time. If you can’t remember your friend’s new username after you deleted it, then you can check your friends list if it was a recent occurrence. Here’s how you check your friends list.
1. Open the Snapchat app. The Snapchat app icon is yellow with a small white ghost in the middle of it. When you first open the app, you’ll be on the Camera screen.
2. In the left upper corner of the Camera screen, you’ll see your user profile. If you have a Bitmoji, then you’ll see it, but if you don’t, then you’ll just see a grey outline of a person. Tap on that icon and you’ll be taken to another screen.
3. On the next screen, you’ll see a bitmoji at the top of the screen. Beneath that, you’ll see a few different headers. Look for the header that says “Friends.” Underneath the “friends” header, click on “My Friends” option and you’ll be taken to your friends list.
4. Now you’ll see everyone who you follow and if they follow you. If you recently deleted them, they’ll have a plus sign to the right of their name that you can tap. This will re-add them back to your friends list.
Using their username
Because there’s no menu of deleted friends on Snapchat, one thing you can do to see if you deleted your friend is search their username. At the top of the camera screen that you see when you open Snapchat, there’s a search option you can use to type in your friend’s username. If they come up and there’s a plus sign to the right of their name, that means that you can add them. If you can add them then you deleted them. Because of simple deduction, this is a great way to find out if you deleted them.
Use your Contacts
You can also use your contacts to see your deleted friends. If they come up in the “add friends” section when you use your contacts to see who you can add, then you know that you deleted them. Here’s how you use your contacts to see who you deleted.
1. Launch the Snapchat app. The Snapchat app icon resembles a yellow square with a small white ghost in the middle of it. When you open the app, you’ll be on the camera screen.
2. Then click on your profile icon in the upper left corner of the camera screen.
3. On the new menu, click on the “Add Friends” option.
4. When you choose the “Add Friends” option, you’ll be given a list of people that you can add from Quick Add, but in the top right corner of that list, see you’ll see the “All Contacts” option. Tap on that.
5. Once you tap on that, you can allow Snapchat to access your contacts, so you can view all your friends. You can add them from your contacts if they pop up. If you see your friend in that list, that means that you’ve deleted them.
Luckily, all these messages allow you to see who you deleted so you can add your friends back as soon as you notice.