Google Photos offers built-in duplicate prevention which ensures that exact duplicates do not upload twice. It is one great technique, but unfortunately, it doesn’t succeed in doing the job all the time. For instance, if you are using a different method, device or if you are editing a photo or its metadata then it will sync as it is no more identical.

Moreover, if your photos are synced with the photos in Google Drive then you will see the duplicates. You may have already known that there is no automatic way to delete duplicate photos from Google Photos. However, there are a few things that you can do to delete the duplicates.

Disable Google Drive Photo Sync:

As mentioned earlier, if the photos on Google Drive are synced with the Google Photos then you will see the duplicates of the photos that were already in the library. The simplest technique you can use to prevent this from happening is to disable the Google Drive photo sync. Fortunately, doing that is pretty simple and here are the steps that you need to follow:
Google Photos

1. Open Google Photos on your device. For example, if you are opening Google Photos on a laptop then you may need to sign in if you aren’t already.

2. From the left side panel, tap on the three lines icon and then scroll down to click on the option Settings.

3. Scroll down and locate the option Google Drive. All you need to do is to toggle this switch off to disable syncing which will prevent the duplication.

Deleting the Photos Manually:

You can delete duplicates manually, for example in https://photos.google.com/ where they should be next to each other except when date/time was changed. All you need to do is to locate the duplicates and then deleting them one-by-one. Here are the steps that you need to follow:

1. Open Google Photos on your device. For example, if you are opening Google Photos on a laptop then you may need to sign in if you aren’t already.

2. Hit the Photos tab from the left-hand side panel.

3. Locate and click on the duplicate photo. Now you will see the delete option on the top-left side of the screen. Click on this option.
Move to Bin 4. After hitting delete, you will need to click on the option Move to Bin that appears on a pop-up at the top-right of the screen.

Move duplicates to Bin 5. If you want to delete several duplicate photos at once then select them one by one by clicking on them and then hitting the delete icon on the top-right side of the screen.

The only thing you need to be careful about is to avoid deleting both the original and duplicate photos in the process of deleting the duplicates. However, if you have mistakenly deleted the wrong photos (for example, the original along with duplicate) then you have 60 days to undo your mistake. Head to the trash folder and restore them. They will get automatically deleted after the 60 days if you do not delete or recover them within the due time.

Deleting Duplicates Using Mobile App:

If you are using Google Photos app on your cell phone then the process is much similar to deleting the photos manually through the web. Launch the Google Photos app from your home screen and then tap on the Photos tab at the bottom left corner. Tap ⁝ or ⋯from the top-right corner of the screen.

Doing this will prompt a menu which contains the option Select Photos. Just tap on every duplicate photo you want to delete and then hit the trash icon. Now confirm your action by tapping the option Remove on the pop-up and your photos will be transferred to trash. Again, you can either restore or delete them permanently within the 60 days’ time.

Removing the duplicates from Google Photos is a pretty straightforward yet time-consuming task. You can either spare some time to delete the duplicates or you can simply use a third-party tool or software to remove the duplicates. The software will specifically identify and delete the duplicates (automatically) and you won’t need to select the duplicates manually.