If you recently installed a modern version of Mac OS X on your system, then you probably noticed that there’s now a Guest user account on your system. This Guest user account isn’t a full guest user account, rather when used, the Guest user account will open a Safari-only version of the operating system. This will allow users to access the internet, and can be used in order to enable the Find My Mac feature. There’s also no need to worry, as no one who uses the Guest user account will be able to access your personal files and applications.

It’s not recommended to remove the Guest user account from your Mac. This is because this account can be used in order to locate your Mac, if it goes missing or is stolen. However, if for some reason, you prefer to remove the account, you can easily do so. All this requires is adjusting a few settings on your system. The process will only take a few moments of your time. In order to get started and remove a Guest user account from your Mac, follow the simple instructions below.

Adjust Settings to Remove Guest User Account from Your Mac

On modern versions of Mac OS, you can easily remove the Guest user account, through System Preferences. This is very easy to carry out, and only requires a few moments of your time. In order to get started, and remove the Guest user account from your Mac, follow the simple instructions below.

1. Click on the Apple logo in the top left corner of your screen.

2. From the drop-down menu that appears, click on System Preferences.

Users & Groups

3. Click on the Users & Groups preference panel.

4. Click on the Guest User heading in the left windowpane.

5. There will be a checkbox labeled Allow guests to log in to this computer. Ensure that the checkbox is not checked. There should be no blue check in the checkbox, when the option is disabled.

That’s all it takes. Using the instructions above, you’ve now removed the Guest user account from your Mac. The next time you reboot your Mac, you won’t see a Guest user account available for others to use. Please keep in mind that if other people would like to use your Mac, they won’t be able to log in on a Guest user account, and you’ll have to instead allow them access to your account.

This may not be ideal, as others will then have access to your private files and applications. You can always change this option later on, if you wish to do so. All you need to do in order to change the option and make the Guest user account appear again, follow the same instructions above, and check the checkbox for Allow guests to log in to this computer.

If your Mac gets lost or stolen, you won’t be able to use Find My Mac since you’ve removed the Guest user account. This is why it’s not recommended to remove the Guest user account. If you only need to temporarily remove the Guest user account, it’s best to enable the Guest user account again, later on. This will be a safety measure you should always have enabled, in order to be able to find your Mac if it ever goes missing or gets stolen. Find My Mac works by tracking the location on your Mac, using the internet. Since the Guest user account has internet access via Safari, the location of your Mac can be tracked, accordingly.