Telegram is a group messaging app that allows you to talk to your friends and family on a daily basis. You can send pictures and video to them to keep them entertained while you’re not with them.

If you want to leave a Telegram group, then there’s a button that allows you to exit freely. But if you’re not engaged within the group or for some reason you want to leave but you don’t want to come off as being rude, you can leave the Telegram group secretly without anyone knowing.

Leaving A Telegram Group Secretly Without Notifying Anyone

Telegram allows you to make groups and these groups can then get bombarded with messages and memes that aren’t that funny. It becomes seriously annoying when you’re constantly receiving notifications and you can’t use any other app in peace.

You then consider leaving but these are your friends you’re talking to and it can come across as very offensive if you leave the group that they added you to. This is a huge dilemma and exiting the group is something you really want to do but make sure you don’t hurt anyone’s feelings along the way is also important to you.

Can You Leave a Telegram Group Without Anyone Knowing

There’s no way to leave a group chat without others being notified because as soon as you leave a group chat, Telegram instantly lets the admins in the group know that you’ve left via a notification in the group chat.

There is no current Telegram method that will allow you to do this secretly because they like people to know when someone within a group has left. If there wasn’t this notification that alerted the admins, people may think that you’ve deleted the Telegram app, or there may have been a bug. So Telegram likes to let the admins know concretely that you’ve left a chat.

Although you can’t leave silently, there are some loopholes that you can use that will be as effective as leaving. You’re not going to be outright leaving, but it still has the same effect.

How to Leave a Telegram Group Without Anyone Knowing

Leaving a Group by Clearing or Exiting the Group

You can leave a Telegram group without anyone in the group chat knowing by selecting the group chat’s name at the top and selecting More. From here you can choose options like ‘leave group’. This will allow you to leave the chat without being notified.

If your group chat is always busy, then the best way to leave it would be to Leave the Group normally. The reason why exiting the group chat can work when you chat is always busy is because people might miss the notification once you leave. This is a risky method but it’s pretty much the only concrete way you’ll be able to leave the chat without members noticing.

To exit the group:

1. Open the Telegram app.

2. Click on the group chat you want to leave.

3. Select the name at the top and select More.

4. Select Leave Group.

Once you’ve done this, you will no longer be able to message the group. If you click the chat in an attempt to message people, there will be no chat option for you to start typing.

Exiting the Group by Archiving the Chat

Another loophole that you can use to exit a Telegram group without other people in the chat noticing is by archiving the chat. This method is best when you want to leave an inactive chat. This involves you clearing the chat so that you don’t have to look at it each time you’re on Telegram. And since this chat is inactive, once you’ve archived it, no one will be sending messages within it so that chat can’t reappear for you again.

To archive a chat:

1. Open Telegram.

2. Find the chat that you want to archive.

3. On iPhone, swipe to the left on the chat. On Android, you want to tap and hold.

4. Select Archive.

Blocking A Telegram Group to Leave Without Being Noticed

Another great way to get out of a Telegram group chat without anyone noticing is by blocking the group. This doesn’t mean that you’ll be leaving the group, it just means that you won’t be receiving notifications from the group, and no one in the group can message you. This is another alternative to actually leaving because it has all of the benefits and no one will receive a notification.

Blocking the group involves you going to every admin individually and blocking them. This is only a good method when you’re not close with anyone in the group so they won’t later on try and message you personally. There’s no way that they can find out that they’ve been blocked so it’s a good loophole to actually exiting a group and notifying admins.

Muting a Telegram Group without Anyone Noticing

One more alternative to leaving the group chat without anyone knowing is by muting the group. Although this isn’t leaving the chat, it has that same effect. You’ll still be part of the group, but you’ll no longer be receiving notifications when people message you. To do this, you’ll need to go to the group in the conversations list, tap the group name, and select Mute.

How to Delete a Telegram Group Without Leaving the Group

If you also what to delete a Telegram group without the rest of the group knowing and without leaving the group, it’s very possible. The group may be taking too much memory within the app because of all the pictures and videos, therefore you’d want to delete the group.

To delete a Telegram group without leaving the group:

1. Open Telegram.

2. Find the chat that you want to archive.

3. On iPhone, swipe to the left on the chat. On Android, you want to tap and hold.

4. Select Delete.

The group should have been wiped from Telegram without you leaving the group. This is going to delete all of the audio, pictures, and videos, therefore saving you a lot of memory.

Once a message comes into the group, you’ll see the group in Chats again, but everything will be wiped.