How to Know If Someone Deactivates Their Instagram

Instagram is one of the most popular social media apps right now. Users enjoy the app because they can post so many different kinds of media to an audience of their choosing. Users post photos and videos with captions that can enhance the message that they’re trying to convey.

Instagram also has a number of ways that users can communicate privately in direct messages and in private Stories where people of their choosing can view the content that they post. Because Instagram can get a little overwhelming, there are a number of ways that you can take a break from Instagram instead of permanently deleting your account.

Disabling or Deleting your Account

If you find yourself tiring of Instagram, there are two ways that you can relieve yourself of your account. Deleting your account is the more permanent option. If you delete your account, then everything that you’ve posted will be erased and you’ll lose that username. All of your like, followers, comments, and anything else on the account will be removed. You cant sign up again with that same username or get the account back.

Disabling the account is less permanent and is more fitting if you’re just looking for a break. This hides your posts, comments, likes and profile until you reactivate it by logging back into your account. This hides your entire profile from everyone temporarily, but if you want to target specific people and stop them from viewing your account, then you can block them.

How do you Know if Someone Deactivated Their Instagram?

Whenever you can’t message someone or see their profile, you probably assume that they’ve blocked you, but this isn’t always the case. There are a few ways that you can tell if someone has deactivated their account.

Ask Someone to look for the person’s account

If the person has deactivated their account, then you won’t be able to see their profile. If they’ve blocked you, then you also won’t be able to see their profile, so knowing that doesn’t help. What will help, however, is if you ask someone else if they can see that person’s profile. Even if the person has a private profile, the other person should still be able to see that they have a profile. If they search for the person’s account and they don’t see a profile, private or public, appear, then that means that person has deactivated their account.

Create Another Profile

It’s quite common to have multiple Instagram profiles, especially with the rise of “finstas” or fake Instagrams. If you already have another profile, then you’re all set, but if not, you can create one rather easily. When prompted to sign in, select the “Sign Up” option and you can put any information that you want into the boxes. You might want to include a username and password that you’ll remember.

Attempt to view their profile on this new Instagram account. If you see their profile pop up, then they’ve blocked you, but if their profile doesn’t appear, then they’ve deactivated their account. This is a great method for if you don’t want to ask someone to look at the account for you.

Use your Web Browser

If you remember what the exact username of the profile was, then you can use this method.

1. Launch your browser. Any web browser will do.

2. Paste this link in the address bar https://www.instagram.com/

3. Once that link is in the address bar, type the username of the person after the slash.

4. Hit the enter key once it’s done.

5. You’ll be navigated to a page that says “Sorry, this page isn’t available” if they’ve deactivated their account.

These are the ways that you can see if someone has deactivated their account.