In this article, we are going to explore every detail about getting blocked on Grindr or blocking someone on Grindr, including if it’s possible to block a person without them knowing.
If You Block Someone on Grindr, Will They Know
Yes, when you block someone on Grindr, they will know. When you block the person, your conversation thread disappears on both ends, and you will no longer be able to see each other’s profiles anymore. You will no longer be able to text each other either.
What Happens When You Block Someone on Grindr
When you block someone on Grindr, you and the person can easily tell that you have blocked them.
1. On both ends, the conversation you had with the person will disappear entirely
2. If you go back to the Browse section, you will not find the person in the Nearby, Fresh, or Explore tabs anymore. The person will not find your profile anywhere either
3. You will no longer be able to text each other even if you were both in the conversation window when you blocked the person.
On your end, the conversation will disappear immediately. On the other person’s end, the conversation may also disappear or they may see Profile Not Available.
Please note that the experience is similar when one deletes their profile, so it can be hard to tell the difference between getting blocked and a deleted account.
A developer once created an app/service called C*ck Blocked, which allowed users to view who blocked them on Grindr. The developer took advantage of a hole in Grindr coding to retrieve information about users that blocked others, but Grindr subsequently released an update to close up the loophole.
So, as at the time of writing this article, there is no way for a user to know whether you actually blocked them or whether you deleted your account.
So, if you want to go ahead and block a user on Grindr, please follow the steps below:
1. Open the conversation with the user you want to block on Grindr.
2. Click the More button at the top right of the screen. It is the vertical 3 dots.
3. Select Block from the options
4. Confirm to block the person when prompted
You cannot block someone without opening the conversation first. So, if they have Read Receipts subscription, they can see that you have read their last message, making it easier to tell that you actually blocked them when your profile disappears.
What Does Blocking Someone on Grindr Do
When you block someone on Grindr, you are literally wiping away all traces of yourself at the person’s end, and all traces of the person at your end.
You will not find the person again in the Browse section, nor will they ever find you again.
Your profile and conversations will be erased from their end. This is a great way to protect your privacy from people you no longer want to communicate with.
However, please note that you can unblock the user from your settings, find their profile again in the Browse section, and start messaging them again. However, you should bear in mind that the previous conversations you had with them before you blocked them will not be restored. Those are gone forever.
To unlock a user that you blocked:
1. Click on the Browse tab
2. Tap your profile picture or icon at the top left of the screen
3. Select Settings at the bottom left of the profile menu
4. Scroll down to the Security and Privacy section and select Unblock Users
5. Next, tap on the user you want to unblock, and select Unblock
6. Then, go back to the Browse section and search for the user in the Nearby or Fresh section
How to Block Someone on Grindr Without Them Knowing
If you want to block someone on Grindr without them knowing, you should be aware that there is currently no way to do that. When you block someone on Grindr, your conversations with them will disappear, and they will not be able to find your profile anymore.
They would either assume that you blocked them or deleted your account. Some users actually tell their Grindr contacts that they deleted their Grindr account, but the truth is that they only blocked the person so they can continue using Grindr without the person knowing.
If you do not want to communicate with someone on Grindr without blocking them, could simply mute your conversations with them using the steps below:
1. Tap on the Inbox tab
2. Do not open the conversation you want to mute. Instead, press and hold it until a menu appears
3. From the options that appear at the top of the screen select the Mute icon (the bell with a line across it)
4. You will stop receiving message notifications when the person texts you.
Another thing you can do instead of blocking the person is to unsend the messages you sent if you are worried about some conversations you had with the person. To unsend a message, you simply have to long press the message and select Unsend. Then confirm to unsend the message.
Grindr is particular about creating a safe space for its users. That’s why there are features like blocking screenshots of disappearing photos and album content, unsending messages and complete erasure when you block a contact.
Completely removing your profile and conversation with a contact when you block them ensures your privacy and safety on the app.
However, you still have the option to unblock the person if you have a change of heart and start messaging them again. The only catch is that you would have to go find them again in Browse, and your previous conversations with them will not be restored.