How to Hide A Post on Instagram From a Follower

0

If you are looking to hide your Instagram posts from a certain person or multiple people, there isn’t a way to do that as of now sadly. However, there are settings that you can change that allow you to hide your Story from certain followers, limit the posts that you yourself see, and control whether or not your posts are public or just able to be seen by your followers.

You can Mute followers that you don’t want to see comments or posts from, make your account private, and you can block users. When you Mute followers, it will lower the number of posts you see on your feed, and when you make your account private, it will force a person to send a follow request and you have to approve it before they can see any of your posts.

Can You Hide Posts on Instagram From Certain Followers?

There’s no setting on Instagram that allows you to hide posts from certain followers on Instagram but there are different workarounds that’ll allow you to hide posts from the followers you don’t want to see it.

Block Them

The best way to hide your Instagram posts from a follower is to block them from following you. When you block someone from following you, they’re unable to see your account and that includes your future posts. Blocking someone is pretty much the only guaranteed way to stop them from seeing your posts.

Make Your Account Private

Another way to stop certain followers from seeing the things you post on Facebook is to make your account private. If the person you don’t want to see your profile doesn’t follow you and your account is public, then you can make your account private so that the person can’t see your posts when your go on your account. If you don’t want a certain follower to see your post and they follow you, this method won’t be useful.

1. Open your Instagram app which is the multicolored camera icon

2. If you aren’t already logged in, you will need to enter your login info which is your username or email address and your password

3. Once you are logged in, click on the user profile icon in the bottom right corner of your screen

4. Now, you will need to click the menu button which is the Three Horizontal Lines in the top right corner of your screen. This will open your side menu. If you are on your computer, you can skip to the next step in this list.

5. Tap on the Settings option at the bottom of this side menu now

6. You need to choose the Privacy option in the settings menu

Account Privacy

7. Then, tap Account Privacy

private account

8. Tap the toggle switch next to private account to turn it blue. When the switch is blue, people will have to request to follow you before they can see your posts

Share Your Story with Your Close Friends

If you have a story that you don’t want a follower to see rather than a post, then you can easily create a Close Friends list that’ll allow you to select who you want as a close friend. This means that you can hide your story from a follower.

1. First, open your Instagram app which is the multicolored camera icon

2. If you aren’t already logged in to your Instagram, you will need to enter your username or email address and your password.

3. After you are logged in, tap on the Profile icon that looks like a persons’ head and shoulders in the bottom right corner of your screen

4. This will bring up your profile page. On this page, you need to tap the menu button at the top right corner of your screen that looks like Three Horizontal Lines

Close Friends

5. In the settings menu, you need to select Close Friends

List tab

6. Here, you will enter your friends’ username and then tap on the Add button next to their name. What this does is add this friend to your Close Friends list. You can edit this list by accessing the Your List tab.

7. Now, take a photo or video that you are looking to add to your Story

Send To button

8. When you are done taking the photo or video, tap the Send To button

Close Friends Only option

9. Tap on the Close Friends Only option. This will share your story, but it will only share it with the friends that you have added to your Close Friends List. You can also select individual users to send your photo or video to also

Hide Your Story from a User on Instagram

1. Open your Instagram app which is the multicolored camera icon

2. If you aren’t already logged in, you will need to enter your login info which includes your username or email address and your password

tap their name

3. Tap the search icon and enter the name of the person you are wanting to mute and then tap their name to go to their profile

Three Dots button

4. Now, tap on the Three Dots button in the top right corner of your screen

Hide Your Story

5. In this menu, you will want to tap Hide Your Story. When you tap this, you will be asked to confirm that you want to hide your story from this user. There will be no notification to the user that you have hide your story from them, and they can still see your regular posts

David Johnson is a freelance writer with 9 years of experience writing for Techzillo and other established tech outlets like iMore. His focus and key interests are Apple and accessibility as well as consumer technology in general. Read our Editorial Guidlines and Fact Checking process.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here