How to Save Text Messages

Text messages are the easiest way to communicate with people in your life. You may find yourself having a cluttered inbox or needing to delete the conversation with people that you no longer speak to.

You may also want to delete text messages that have sensitive information or that you simply don’t want to be seen by anyone who may be in your phone. Below, you will find multiple ways to delete your text messages.

1. Deleting a Single Android Message

1. Launch your Android Messages application. The icon is a white message bubble against a blue background. If you cannot find it, swipe up on your screen and there will be a search bar that you can use to search for the Messages application.

2. You will now see a list of all of the threads of your messages to everyone that you have sent a message to. Tap on the thread that contains the message that you want to delete.

3. You will now see bubbles around texts that you have sent and receive in that thread. If you need to search for the message that you want to delete, there is a magnifying glass that you can click on to search the key words of the text that you are looking for. Otherwise, you can scroll up and down to search for it.

C:\Users\marce\Downloads\Screenshot_20190615-220644_Messages.jpg

4. Tap and hold on the message that you want to delete. A new menu will pop up.

5. Tap the option that says Delete. You will have deleted that message in that thread. All the other ones will still remain.

2. Deleting Entire Message Conversation

1. Launch your Android Messages application. The icon is a white message bubble against a blue background. If you cannot find it, swipe up on your screen and there will be a search bar that you can use to search for the Messages application.

2. You will now see a list of all of the threads of your messages to everyone that you have sent a message to. Press and hold on the thread that contains the message that you want to delete.

3. New options will appear that the top and bottom of the screen. You can now tap other threads to add them to the list of ones that will be deleted. You should see them turn a different shade after you select them.

If you press the three dots on the right corner, you can pin certain threads to the top of your messages, so they will appear at the top regardless of who messaged you recently.

4. Press the trash can at the bottom right of the screen and these threads will be deleted.

3. Deleting All of the Message Threads

1. Launch your Android Messages application. The icon is a white message bubble against a blue background. If you cannot find it, swipe up on your screen and there will be a search bar that you can use to search for the Messages application.

2. You will now see a list of all of the threads of your messages to everyone that you have sent a message to. Press and hold on a thread. It does not matter which thread you choose.

3. New options will appear that the top and bottom of the screen. Press the circle in the top left of the screen. This will select all of your conversations.

4. Now, tap the trash can in the bottom right corner of the screen.

4. Factory Reset your Device

This may seem extreme, but if you are giving your phone away, deleting the text messages will not work since there are still ways to recover them. Here are the steps:

1. Launch the settings app. You may find it on your home screen, but if you can’t, you can swipe up on your screen to use the search bar at the top of the screen to search for it.

C:\Users\marce\Downloads\Screenshot_20190615-213152_Settings.jpg

2. Scroll through the options that pop up on the settings menu. Scroll down until you see the General Management option towards the bottom of the menu. This will take you to a new list of options.

C:\Users\marce\Downloads\Screenshot_20190615-213157_Settings.jpg

3. Of the options that appear on the screen, you will need to tap on the Reset option at the top of the list on the screen. This will take you to another menu with a list of options.

C:\Users\marce\Downloads\Screenshot_20190615-213202_Settings.jpg 4. In the new list of options, you will need to tap Factory Data Reset.

C:\Users\marce\Downloads\Screenshot_20190615-213756_Settings (1).jpg

5. Your phone will show you everything that will reset. If you scroll to the bottom of the list, you will see a blue button that you can press to reset your phone. It may take awhile for your phone to factory reset, but you will be in the clear to get rid of your phone as you please.

Tips:

  • If none of these options appear to you, you can use a data wiper to feel more comfortable. This completely destroys the data on your Android phone and no traces of your data will ever be found. You will usually have to download these on your PC and then connect your phone to your PC using a USB cord. It is recommended that you back up any info that you want to keep prior to doing this because you will not be able to recover anything that you want to.
  • Make use of the Secure Folder on your Samsung device. This unique feature makes it so you can add many files and apps on your device to this folder. After you move files or apps here, you can delete them on your phone and you will still be able to find them here.
  • If you frequently find yourself needing to delete messages, consider using a different app other than your Android Messages application. Google Hangout, Messenger, or WhatsApp are all popular messaging apps that you can find on the Google Play store. They are all password protected and you can keep private conversations here separate from the ones that you have on Android Messenger.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here