When you pose the question, “Can I see who views my Facebook profile?” in, say, Google’s search engine, you’ll get a lot of results pointing to programs and websites claiming they’ll tell you who is. By the end of the article, you’ll understand that, no, those third-parties can’t tell you who visits your profile page, nor will Facebook.

Data Collected Doesn’t Mean Data Shared

You see, Facebook collects data on its users. It’s why you see advertisements on the sides on products you were just searching a day before. Why wouldn’t they have data on who visits pages and profiles? But just because they collect the data, doesn’t mean they’d be willing to share it with you.

Let’s put it this way: when you visit a page or a profile page, who or what you visit is your business and because of that, Facebook deems it private. If Facebook is going to keep the pages and profiles you visit confidential, then it’s only fair that it’s extended to those that visit your pages and your profile.

The Allure of Third-Party Programs

It’s tempting, isn’t it? When you see that tagline, “See who’s checking out your Facebook page!” or “See who’s stalking you!” you feel the itch to sate your curiosity. And that’s what the minds behind the third-party programs want from you. It’s human nature. Giving into that feeling is what leads to your personal information stolen, a fast track to violating Facebook’s privacy rules or worse, your Facebook account stolen. Some will even charge you, just so you can have your account stolen and your wallet emptied.

Not a single program will do you any justice. On top of stealing information, robbing you of money and getting you removed from Facebook, third-party programs can then rub salt in the wound by giving you malware. Lovely, right? A heavy dose of sarcasm implied.

Not only are the third-party programs incapable of working, Facebook wants you to actively report any and all programs or websites that advertise otherwise. After all, that’s a violation of privacy. It’s understandable to want to scratch that itch, but in doing so, you open yourself to an even worse possibility, nay, almost a guarantee. Restrain yourself from using any third-party apps, especially ones that ask for money. That’s a surefire way of getting your bank account drained.

That’s a Big ‘NO’ from Facebook, Chief

There’s a so-called “solution” that gets passed around that many Facebook users have clung to, and it’s this narrative that viewing who’s on your top nine on your friends list is somehow indicative of who’s visited your Facebook page. That’s not really true.

Your top nine friends are those that you generally interact with the most on Facebook. When you visit a page and interact with a friend’s page, comment, like, tag, post–those all count towards the algorithm. But there is another force that’s guiding your top nine friends: Facebook itself.

You may be looking at your top nine friends now and probably seeing people you barely interact with. That’s Facebook at work, not some tip for others to see who you’re checking out on Facebook; that tired old myth is still floating around to this day. View the people again and ask yourself why you two are connected. Did you recently befriend them on Facebook? Did you two go to the same highschool? Or maybe you two have common likes, say, pages that you two both follow. It’s Facebook basically nudging you towards interacting with others.

Of course, the algorithm is far more complicated than that through the introduction of numbers, but when you boil it down into words, that’s what you can describe the algorithm as. In reality, it’s just Facebook performing its intended purpose: a space for people to socialize. It can even throw in an old friend in there that you used to speak with, but have since went silent. Even an algorithm can see the quarrel between you and someone else isn’t worth the trouble.

Bottom Line

So, there you have it; Facebook doesn’t share who views your Facebook profile, and nor will they ever. And no, seeking out additional extensions, programs or websites isn’t an option either unless you want your own privacy violated. The irony isn’t lost.