facebook

If you have recently updated the iOS only to experience that your iDevice isn’t letting you save pictures from Facebook then you are not alone in this. Various platforms have been bombarded with similar issues. You would think that your photos aren’t saving due to some internet fault, but that is not exactly the case.

It is indeed frustrating when a problem occurs in a device for which you have paid handsome money. However, it is not always the maker’s fault; sometimes the issue could be the owner’ own doing. In any case, there is nothing to be worried about. Apple devices rarely have problems, and when they do, there are always quick fixes to address them.

One main reason why this issue surfaced is iOS 11; yes, the groundbreaking iOS 11. It was indeed a game-changing update which brought many new features along with some technical complications. In iOS 11, the system no longer integrates any third-party social networks by default. Simply put, Apple has removed single sign-ins from the settings, and now social media apps would also need permission within the apps to access iPhone features.

Prior to iOS 11, all these apps held special rights in iOS which automatically eradicates any issue if occurred. Well, things have changed, but that doesn’t mean that users can’t address issues with social media apps. This article will explain some steps that can be assistive in case if Facebook pictures aren’t saving on your device. Have a look at them:

Allow Permission:

If this issue has occurred after you have updated your device to iOS 11 then the first thing you need to do is to visit Settings. You will need to allow the app to access Notifications, Location Services, and Photos Access. You might see a pop-up when you open the Facebook app for the first time after the update asking your permission to access the photos, notifications and location. Simply tap the option Allow to confirm your action.

If you don’t receive any pop-up message asking your permission, you will still need to allow access manually. You will be able to do that by:

1. Go to the Settings on your iPhone.

2. Tap on the option Privacy.
tap on the option Photos

3. Next, tap on the option Photos.
Locate the option Facebook

4. Now you will see some apps on the screen. Locate the option Facebook and tap on it.
Tap the option Read and Write

5. Tap the option Read and Write if the option Never is enabled. If it is already Read and Write then tap Never and tap Read and Write back again.

Another way to do adjust the same settings is by:

1. Go to the Settings on your iPhone.

2. Scroll down to the app section and locate Facebook. Tap on it.

3. Now make sure the option Photos has Read and Write displayed against it. If not, tap on Photos and enable Read and Write to allow access.

Log out and Login Again:

This is just like the universal fix of switching off and back on to make an electronic gadget work. You need to follow these steps:

1. Open the Facebook App.

2. Log out from it and sign in back.

3. Upon signing in, if you see any pop-up asking permission e.g. photo access, location, or notifications, simply tap the option allow for all of them. If nothing appears then continue as normal.

4. Now go to any Photo (don’t confuse photo with a photo link) to save it.

5. Tap on the picture to open it and then tap three dots located at the top right of the screen. You can also press-hold the image for 3-4 seconds to prompt menu.

6. A pop-up menu would appear with the option Save on it. Tap on that option.

7. If you see a pop up asking you to Please Allow Photo Access (if it didn’t show up earlier when logged in) then repeat the steps for allowing access you read above. As soon as the access is allowed, you will be able to save the picture.

Another catch here is that some pictures won’t get saved on any iPhone if the owner has put privacy restrictions. In this case, don’t troubleshoot again, just visit another photo to see if it works.

Delete and Reset:

If the issue still exists even after all the trick and traits, deleting the app followed by a restart would be the final step. First of all, deleting the app is different to Offloading the App (a new setting for iOS 11 and later) so make sure you are actually removing it from the device. You know the drill for deleting an app, but if you don’t then simply press hold the Facebook app icon on the home screen for 3-4 seconds and then tap the X over the icon.

Now you need to reset the device, and for that, you need to:

For iPhone 8 or Later:

Quickly press-release the volume up button, then press-release the volume down button in quick succession. Once done, press-hold the sleep/wake button until the Apple logo appears on the screen.

For iPhone 7 & 7 Plus:

Press-hold the sleep/wake button in tandem with volume down button for at least 7-10 seconds. Do not release them until the Apple logo appears on the screen.

For iPhone 6 Plus & Previous Models:

Press-hold the home and side/top button (as per the model) for 10 seconds. Do not release them until the Apple logo appears on the screen.

Once done, go to the App Store to download the Facebook app again. repeat all the drills of allowing access to notifications, camera, microphone, and location and services via the methods mentioned above. Now, your issue would likely to be solved and hopefully, you won’t have to face this issue again. Conclusively, Apple also needs to stick with simple settings instead of making it more difficult for a layman.