The newest addition of TikTok has been the ability to repost videos made by other users to your entirety of followers. But if you repost, will the creator of the TikTok be notified?
If I Repost on TikTok Will, They Know?
Yes, if you repost a TikTok, the creator of the TikTok will be notified of the repost. Since the beginning of the app, being able to share content with your friends has been an option.
Either you send the video through TikTok’s chat box or by sharing the link through other means of social media.
The idea of sharing videos of another user directly to your followers without having to send the video as a private message is a relatively new one for TikTok. Sharing content has been an option with other social networks such as Facebook and Twitter.
In order to ensure that the manner in which the users are utilizing this option is not counterproductive for the creator of TikTok content, the creator will be notified that their content is being shared by other users.
While the creator will be notified of the repost, the video itself will not appear on the main page of the user who reposted the content. The content will therefore be available to your followers through the “For You Page”.
This new addition makes it so any content that is shared through TikTok will be credited to its original creator.
Does TikTok Notify If You Repost?
If you were to repost a video, then the creator of the video would be notified of the repost. This way, the creator will be able to see how shareable their content is as well as retain the credit that comes along with the video itself.
This means that no user will be able to claim ownership of a video that they do not own.
The notification that the creator will receive will be one to let him know that their content has been reposted, but the user that did the report will not be available for the user to know.
While it is important who is sharing your content, notifying the creator with the credentials of the user who is doing the reposting violates the terms of privacy of TikTok.
The only data that will be available for the creator other than the notification once the report has been made in the number of reposts that a certain video has.
Thanks to this, the creator will know what videos have the possibility to be shared by others. Therefore, they will know what kind of content has a broader audience.
Can You See Who Reposts Your Videos on TikTok?
In the same way in which other creators will be notified if a video has been shared by others, you will get a notification to let you know if others are sharing your content.
If your intent is to see who exactly has shared your content, it is not possible to do so at the time. It is not because TikTok is not working correctly.
This is rather due to their privacy protection policy. TikTok has been a platform used by many people in order to entertain their audiences.
Creating original and interesting videos that people will want to follow and share will let any user expand their content with the content of others that have common types of videos.
As opposed to sites such as Facebook and Twitter, the notification that the creator will get will not include the user that reposted your content.
So you will be able to see how many people are finding your content to be relatable to their audience, and you will be able to see what videos are being taken well by the community and what videos aren’t.
While you will not be able to see exactly what users are sharing your content, you will be able to infer what types of accounts are interested in sharing your content by the type of content that is being shared the most.
For the time being, it seems like you will not be able to see exactly who it is that is sharing your content, but you will know what type of content is being shared and the number of reposts any given TikTok has.
What Happens When You Repost on TikTok?
When you repost a TikTok, the video that you repost will not be added to your main page. Instead, it will be available for your followers to see through the “For You Page” of your followers.
This is done in order to make sure that users who repost other users’ videos will not be falsely accredited by the video they share with others.
There are many reasons an account will want to share videos from other accounts, even if sharing will not bring about organic growth for the page.
Oftentimes sharing videos that have to do with the niche you are utilizing in your videos will show your followers that you understand what type of audience you have and that you understand what types of videos they want to see from you.
If you commonly repost videos of others and they relate to the content, you create chances that others will start to notice your content as well and begin sharing your content with their followers.
The main reason then for anyone to share content from others on TikTok will be because they believe that sharing the content will enrich their page in ways in which only sharing their videos will not do.
Can You Repost on TikTok Without Someone Knowing
No, it is not possible for you to repost a TikTok without the creator knowing. While the creator will not know who it was that shared their content, they will know that their content has been shared by others.
It is impossible to turn off somehow the option of a notification being delivered to the creator for them to know that their content is being shared on the platform.
How to Repost on TikTok Without Someone Knowing
Even when the person whose TikTok is being reposted will not know who is reposting their videos, there might be various reasons why you would like to erase any possibility for someone finding out who it was that shared their content.
The reposted TikToks will only be available to the reposter’s followers through their “For You Page”, but if the TikTok you repost is of a user that coincidentally follows you too, it might be possible for them to infer who it was that shared their content.
It will be impossible for the creator not to be notified that their content was reposted by another user without knowing their credentials. So, what can you do in order not to leave out any possibility for anyone to find out that it was you who shared their content?
Repost It on A Burner Account
If you want to be completely sure that no one will ever know that their content was reposted by you, you might want to use a burner account. A burner account is an account that you use only for the purpose of using it once and later deleting the said account.
To do this, first, you must create a new account that has no ties to your current account. Once you create the burner account, look for the TikTok you want to repost and go ahead and repost the TikTok on your burner account.
But be advised that since the video is not posted onto your main page on your profile and is only shared to your followers by the “For You Page”.
This means that while you will be able to repost the TikTok without anyone ever finding out who it was that reposted the content, it is also fair to say that the report will most likely not be seen.
TikTok is a platform that keeps up with the trends of its audience and tries to add new features to its platform in order to keep it interesting.
Sharing content from other users in order for your followers to see their content has been a feature that many other social networks have implemented onto their sites, but it is a fairly new feature when it comes to TikTok.
Every time that a report is made on TikTok, the creator of said TikTok will be notified that a report has been made and what video was reposted.
While it is impossible for the creator to see who exactly is sharing their content, it is possible for them to know what TikToks is being shared by others and how many times said TikTok has been shared.
While it might be important for creators to know who is sharing their content because of the privacy rules by TikTok, it might be impossible to see who it is that is sharing the content.