With so many stories being shared in Snapchat, it’s tempting to take a screenshot of everything you see, including people’s profiles, but that might leave you worried about Snapchat notifying others.
If you want to take a screenshot of someone’s profile or wondering if people screenshot your stuff, it’s important to know before you do it so that no one knows about your sneaky habits.
If I Screenshot Someone’s Snapchat Profile, Will They Know?
If you take a screenshot of someone’s profile, Snapchat will notify them that you screenshotted their profile by saying ‘name took a screenshot of friendship profile’. There’s a notification on peoples profiles saying that friendships are private, “screenshotting friendship profiles will send a notification – just like snaps. If you want to note down information such as their snapchat score, then you can remember it and writing it down if you won’t like the fact that they’ll be notified if you screenshot it.
Tip: If you want to take a photo or video of someone that you don’t know, or a celeb in your subscriptions, then you can because they won’t know who you are and they likely get loads of screenshots from other accounts.
Tip: Another way that was mentioned before was to take a picture or a video of the content that you want to save rather than using your phone to directly screenshot. In this case, Snapchat wouldn’t know that you did this because it was done indirectly.
Tip: If you’re worried about people screenshotting your snaps and stories, you can post things that you won’t mind people saving. If your friend takes a lot of screenshots, just text them using direct messages rather than sending them snaps.
If I Screenshot Someone’s Profile and We’re Not Friends, Will They Know?
If you screenshot someone’s profile and you’re not friends, they won’t be notified about it. They’ll only be notified when you’re friends with them.
If someone uploads a story and you take a screenshot of it, then Snapchat will notify them that you screenshotted by showing your name on a list of people that screenshotted the story. There’s, unfortunately, no way to save someone’s story by using your device other than screenshotting it. But if you’re wary that Snapchat will notify them, it’s best not to do it.
Tip: If you have another device, you can open a story and take a picture or film it from there. This means that you will have a video or picture of the story rather than a screen and there’s no way that Snapchat can notify them that you took a picture of their story.
If you take a screenshot whilst in a chat between someone else, Snapchat will notify users that you screenshotted the chat. A message will come up saying that a screenshot was taken of the chat. If someone sends you a direct snap, and you screenshot it, they will be notified that you screenshotted the snap. There will be a notification in the chat saying that you screenshotted the story.