The Uber app saves your credit card info which is then used for payments when you request a ride. After you’re done using Uber, the ride you took will be logged in your Uber ride history. Uber keeps track of every ride you take, and through your history, you can see all of the rides you ever made, ever since you installed this extremely useful app on your phone. The ride history that’s saved is also quite detailed, saving your payment details, the source and destination locations, the drivers info, your phone number, the time, and more.

All of this information can be quite sensitive, and there may be plenty of reasons as to why you’d want to delete your Uber ride history. Perhaps, nosy relatives use your phone, and you don’t want them knowing where and how you’ve used Uber. Maybe you’ve been planning a surprise for your friends and family and used Uber to make trips to the gift shop. Whatever the case, the fact of the matter is deleting your Uber ride history isn’t that simple.

In order to get rid of your ride history, you’ll have to delete your Uber account. However, there’s no need to worry as once you delete your Uber account, you can always create a new account with the phone number that you used on your old account. In order to get started and learn how you can delete your Uber ride history via the deletion of your Uber account, follow the simple instructions below.

Delete Uber Account to Get Rid of Ride History

Deleting your Uber account isn’t as simple as simply deleting the app. Before you get started, though, and learn how you can delete your Uber account, you should first remove you credit/debit card info from the application. Once you’ve deleted all your financial information, follow the instructions below to delete your Uber account.

1. Launch Uber, just as you normally would.

2. Tap on the three-lined menu icon, in the top left corner of the screen.

Help

3. A side menu will now appear on your screen. From this side menu, tap on Help.

4. Tap on Account and Payment.

5. Tap on Changing my account settings.

Delete my Uber account

6. Tap on Delete my Uber account. This option will likely be towards the bottom of the window.

7. You may be prompted to enter your password. Please do so, accordingly.

8. Uber will ask why you’d like to delete your account. Please answer, accordingly.

It’s as simple as that. After you enter your password and specify why you’d like to delete your Uber account, the deactivation process will begin immediately. The permanent deletion of your account may take up to 30 days. Once a month has passed, the company server will delete your Uber history. However, please keep in mind that some data is retained by Uber for legal purposes. This is stated in Uber’s privacy policy, and is completely normal.

Although the solution above isn’t straightforward or ideal, it’s the only option that works. You can always create another Uber account, with the same phone number that was on your old account. Since you’ve now deleted your old account, there won’t be any issue with creating a new account with the same number. If you hadn’t deleted your old account, you wouldn’t be able to create a new Uber account with the same phone number.

If you’d like to take things a step further and have the information retained by the company deleted as well, then you’ll have to contact Uber customer support. This usually is unnecessary, though. Most users are satisfied with the method above, and simply create a new Uber account after having deleted the old one. It’s possible that Uber may later on make deleting your history a lot easier. For this reason, you should always keep the Uber app up to date.

If you’d only like to hide your Uber history for a short while, you can always delete the app, and then reinstall it later on. Feel free to choose the method that is most convenient for you. If you find the method above to be too much of a hassle, you may want to consider taking a cab or ordering car service the next time you plan a surprise for a loved one or go somewhere that you wouldn’t want anyone else to know about.