How to Add, Edit, and Delete Bookmarks in Safari iPhone

iPhone provides you with a great feature of AutoFill which remembers your usernames and passwords for different websites. It is a great feature for someone who doesn’t possess a nag for remembering login credentials for the social media sites, PayPal or internet banking etc. if enabled, this feature will ask your permission to remember the user name or passwords for any website you access for the first time.

Importantly, Apple ensures that these details remain limited only to the user. You will be asked for identity clearance via a passcode, Face ID or Touch ID whenever auto-filling occurs. No one other than you can access your important details. However, you have the option to share these details with someone close such as a family member or a friend.

You can clear/delete these details anytime you like as there could be a situation where you want to change or sell your device. You can also disable this feature if you no longer want to use it. This article will explain both disabling and deleting the auto-fill data. This method is applicable across all the Apple devices such as iPad, iPhone, and iPod Touch. Here is what you need to do:

Disabling AutoFill:

This is a great option for someone who isn’t replacing the phone but just want to disable this setting. Instead of deleting the passwords you can simply disable them. You can enable them back whenever you want to. Here is how:

For iOS 11 or Later.

1. Go to the Settings on the iDevice you are using.

Passwords and Accounts

2. Scroll down, locate the option Passwords and Accounts.
AutoFill Passwords

3. The second option on the screen would be AutoFill Passwords. All you need to do is to toggle it off to disable the feature.

4. Now visit any website for which you have saved the login details to check if they ask your permission to AutoFill or not.

For iOS 10.3 & Earlier:

1. Go to the Settings on the iDevice you are using.

2. Tap on the option Safari.

3. Next, tap the option Passwords and AutoFill.

4. Now toggle off the feature Names and Passwords.

5. Now visit any website for which you have saved the login details to check if they ask your permission to AutoFill or not.

Turn Off Keychain:

If you desire to stop login details and payment information to sync from other devices then you will need to turn off the iCloud Keychain feature as well. You can do that by:

1. Go to the Settings on your iDevice.

2. Tap your Apple ID; the first option on the screen.

3. Now tap the option iCloud.
locate the option Keychain

4. Scroll down, locate the option Keychain and tap on it.
toggle the feature off

5. Simply toggle the feature off.

Deleting Passwords and Usernames:

If you desire to replace or upgrade your iDevice then it is recommended that you delete all the AutoFill data of passwords and usernames. You can do that via Settings, and here is how:

For iOS 11 and Later:

1. Launch the Settings on the iDevice you are using.

2. Now tap on the option Passwords and Accounts.

3. Choose the option Website and App Passwords.

4. Provide the passcode, Face ID, or Touch ID to access.

5. Tap on the option Edit at the top-right of your screen. Now select all the websites and app one by one.

6. Once done, tap on the option Delete at the top-left of your screen.

7. You can also swipe over the website or app to display the Delete option. Simply tap on it to delete it.

For iOS 10.3 and Earlier:

1. Go to the Settings on the iDevice you are using.

2. Tap on the option Safari.

3. Next, tap the option Passwords and AutoFill.

4. Tap on the option Saved Passwords.

5. Tap on the option Edit at the top-right of your screen. Now select all the websites and app one by one.

6. You will be required to enter your passcode to prompt your action.

7. Once provided, all the saved information on this page will be deleted.

So, these are the methods which can help you in both disabling and deleting the passwords and usernames. There could be a lot of different reasons why you would want to delete or disable this great feature and it is entirely up to you. however, some Apple users deemed this feature as dangerous. They think that using this feature make them vulnerable. Apple has clearly stated that all these details are well protected, and there is no need to be worried about it.