How to Use Instagram Blur Effect

Whether you’re looking to delete some unsightly photos or you just want to purge your entire account, there doesn’t exist a wrong reason for deleting your photos off of Instagram. The handful of photos you uploaded, the ones you thought were a good idea, soon brought you embarrassment. Next time you’ll log out of Instagram before you drink. Or that one with the bad lighting. It doesn’t matter what the content is, you want them all removed.

You have two options: deleting your photos one by one, or nuking your account entirely and starting over, after all, it would be easier to just create a new account and start from scratch. There does exist a third option because that’ll be discussed shortly. Let’s start with the two methods that will also have your back.

Deleting Photos One By One

Deleting photos from Instagram is super easy to do and only requires a few taps of your fingers. Notice “fingers” was used because, unfortunately, Instagram photos can only be deleted via the Instagram app. There is no way of deleting photos on Instagram’s website. With that being said, this method is pretty solid if you only have a handful of pictures to purge from your account.

1. Locate and launch the Instagram app on your mobile device. You can find the Instagram app somewhere on one of your home screens. If you can’t find it there, check inside your App Drawer where all of your currently installed apps are housed.

For iOS users, no such App Drawer exists. All of your apps are placed on one of your home screens. If you can’t find the Instagram app there, you might be swiping past it or, alternatively, if could be any number of app folders you may have as well.

2. Log into Instagram with the Instagram account you want to delete photos from, if you aren’t already logged in.

Head over to your profile page

3. Head over to your profile page by selecting the “head and shoulders” icon in the bottom right corner of your mobile device’s screen.

4. On your profile page, head down and select a photo you would like to delete from your Instagram account.

Just so you know, once the photo is deleted it cannot be retrieved. When presented with the option to delete, you can also choose to ARCHIVE your photo. It will be removed from your profile and not a single soul can view, not even you until you decide to bring it back.

5. In the top right corner of the screen, you’ll see one of two icons: three vertical dots or three horizontal dots. It depends entirely on your mobile device, but both icons serve the same purpose. Choose the dots that pertain to your device. It will open a menu.

select Delete

6. In the menu, select Delete. When asked if you are certain you want to delete the photo, tap Delete once again.

Tap Don’t Delete if you’re having second thoughts.

7. Rinse and repeat until every single photo of yours has been deleted from your Instagram account.

Nuke Your Account

If you are reaching several million photos, you aren’t going to have a good time thumbing through every single photo just to delete it with the method above. You’re going to tap out maybe after the 40th or 50th photo, at best. So, why not nuke your account?

Consider this: if you’re wanting to delete all of your photos with the intention of deleting your Instagram account, you can stop right there. You don’t have to. Why? Because deleting your account already deletes every single photo, post, like, comment, friendship, videos and data will be completely wiped. And if you try to recover, you’ll have no luck; it’s gone for good and everything with it, hence the phrase, “nuking your account.”

Now, unlike deleting individual photos, you can in fact delete your account with Instagram’s website. In fact, it’s recommended just because it’s easier to navigate on a PC rather than a mobile device’s browser. And no, you cannot delete your account through the Instagram app; it has to be done through a browser, mobile browser or computer.

Here’s what you do:

1. Locate and launch your preferred web browser. Afterwards, make your way to Instagram’s homepage.

2. If you aren’t already logged in, do so with the Instagram account you want to delete. If multiple people use Instagram on the computer, make sure the account is your account.

3. Visit your profile page by clicking the “head and shoulders” icon in the top right corner of the page.

4. At the very bottom of the page, you’ll see a series of hyperlinks. Find and click SUPPORT to redirect you to Instagram’s help center.

5. On the left hand side is a column of options. Choose Managing Your Account, which will expand into more options. Next, click on Delete Your Account.

click on the “How do I delete my account?”

6. What you’ll want to do next is to click on the “How do I delete my account?” which will expand into more details. But, more importantly, the very first step provides a hyperlink to Instagram’s “Delete Your Account” page.

provide a reason for why you’re deleting Instagram

7. First, provide a reason for why you’re deleting Instagram.

click Permanently delete my account

8. Any reason you choose will result in providing your password before the process can continue. After correctly punching in the password, click Permanently delete my account, down at the bottom, in red.

What About Third-Party Apps?

Here’s the deal, third party apps aren’t sanctioned by Facebook, Inc., the owners of Instagram. There doesn’t exist a way to mass delete photos and keep the account provided by Instagram, but some third party apps can. But the problem is they’re third-party and they aren’t affiliated with Facebook, Inc., or Instagram. Which means they can potentially steal your account.

Some, admittedly, have a reputation for doing what they’re advertised, but another problem arises when those good-intentioned apps get the boot by Instagram after an update. Instagram takes the privacy of your account information very seriously by booting apps it doesn’t support.

In the spirit of keeping your account safe and secure, you are stuck with nuking or deleting one by one.