Congratulations Amazon user

On your iPhone or iPad, there can sometimes be pop ups that don’t seem to leave. If you’ve been getting the congratulations amazon user or congratulations Samsung user pop up in your Safari browser, there are a few ways to get rid of it for good. The scam messages can be annoying, and they can stop you from using your device.

Different Examples of the Virus

When you see the congratulations messages, there are different variations of this message that can be displayed.

For example, “Congratulations! Amazon.com User! You’ve been selected for a chance to get the $1000 Amazon Gift Card, Apple iPhone or Samsung Galaxy”. You’re then asked to click on OK to claim your reward before it expires.

Why Do I Receive A Pop up Saying Congratulations?

The first thing you need to realise with these pop-ups is that they’re fake, and you haven’t actually won anything. Whenever you see a pop up out of nowhere saying you’ve won some new gadget or you’ve won some gift card, you haven’t, they’re 100% a scam and you should avoid them.

When your iPhone shows this message in Safari or Facebook, it’s a lure used by the scammer to get your credit card information, so they can commit fraud. You should never click on the OK button or anything similar because they know how to trick you into putting your bank details.

What If I’ve Already Sent Information?

Although this is very unlikely, there are possibilities that you didn’t realise that it was a scam and you’ve already sent them your details.

If you’ve sent them your card details, you’ll need to contact your bank immediately and tell them that you’ve accidentally sent your card details and request for your details to be changed. If you have sent them something like your iCloud details, you can change your iCloud password, and this will force them to log out of your account.

You just have to hope that they haven’t already used your data in a malicious way and that you have changed your details in time.

How to Get Rid of ‘Congratulations You’ve won’ Virus

Clear browsing history

When you see this message, the first thing you need to do is to close the tab in Safari tab. If you saw this on Facebook, you can also close Facebook. Once you’ve done this, you can swipe Safari off the multitasking switch screen.

The next thing you need to do is clear your browsing history. Since the pop up came up in Safari, the scammer could now have a cookie from your IP address which means they can track what you’re doing and keep showing you these pop-ups.

To clear browsing history:

1. Open the Settings app

2. Scroll down and tap Safari

3. Tap ‘Clear History and Website Data

4. Confirm that you want to delete the history

After you’ve done this, the messages may stop for a while, but they could still pop up. If you keep visiting unsafe websites and malicious websites, you’ll continue to see this pop-up. Only visit websites that are protected and websites that you trust from now on if you want to stop seeing this pop-up. You’ll know a website is secure if you see a padlock icon in the domain at the top.