how to delete friends on ps4

Like computers, smartphones and tablets, the PS4 keeps temporary files and data stored away in an effort to improve load times and gameplay. On that note, the PS4, like other devices, are susceptible to corrupted data. With constant overwrites, unsuccessful shutdowns and the constant stream of data, it’s bound to happen. You’ll notice your game freezing more, slower load times and issues with your network connection.

Luckily for you, the ability to clear your PS4’s cache is so simple a monkey could do it. Probably. On top of that, you’ll also learn how to clear your saved game data from your console’s storage and any USB storage devices since that, too, is susceptible to corruption.

As a word of caution, if you plan on deleting saved data, but want to keep it, make sure you have a USB storage device or upload it to your online storage. You’ll need an active PlayStation Plus membership to use your online storage.

Clearing your PS4’s Cache

Unfortunately, Sony’s PlayStation 4 doesn’t have an option to clear the console’s cache among its settings. That being said, you can force the console to clear its cache by shutting the system down, like so:

1. With a Dualshock 4 controller, press and hold the​PlayStation button​. You’ll find it just below the controller’s touchpad, stamped with the PlayStation logo.

2. When the Quick Menu appears, move to ​Power​. In Power, select ​Turn Off PS4​. Do NOT select ‘Enter Rest Mode.’

3. Wait 60 seconds to ensure the PlayStation 4 has successfully shutdown. You’ll see the light in the front blink and then finally fade away, indicating it’s completely shutdown.

4. In the back, locate the ​power cable​and gently, but firmly, remove the power cable from the PS4. Do NOT yank it by the cable cord.

5. Wait 60 seconds before plugging the power cable back in. You can turn it back on now.

Clearing Saved Game Data on Storage

1. On the PS4 home screen, move up on the dashboard to reveal additional settings. All the way to the right is an icon resembling a toolbox, located to the left of Power. That’s your Settings​. Select it.

Application Saved Data Management​

2. In Settings, make your way down until you find ​Application Saved Data Management​. Select it. You can find it near the bottom of the menu.

choose ​Saved Data in System Storage​

3. At the top, choose ​Saved Data in System Storage​.

You can choose to upload a copy of your saved data by choosing ​Upload to Online Storage​, however, you’ll need an active PlayStation Plus membership. If not, you can choose to copy it to an external USB drive by choosing ​Copy to USB Storage Device​.

4. At the very bottom, choose ​Delete​.

5. Now your console will present you with a list of all the games your storage is currently holding saved data for, whether it’s a save file or saved in-game settings. Choose the ​video game you’d like to delete data for.

    • If you have no intentions of copying any data, and you’d like to delete data for more than one game, press ​Options​ on your Dualshock 4 controller. When a menu appears, choose the only option available: ​Select Multiple Applications​. You can then choose the games and select ​Delete​.

select ​Delete

6. View the data that’s currently being held onto for the game. You might see saved files or in-game settings. Select the ​data ​you want to clear, then select ​Delete​.

7. Your PS4 will prompt a window, asking you to confirm the deletion of the selected saved data. If you are sure, select ​OK​.

Clearing Saved Game Data on USB

1. On the PS4 home screen, move up on the dashboard to reveal additional settings. Head all the way to the right and select ​Settings​.

2. In Settings, make your way down until you find ​Application Saved Data Management​. Select it. You can find it near the bottom of the menu.

select ​Saved Data on USB Storage Device​

3. Near the bottom, select ​Saved Data on USB Storage Device​.

choose ​Delete

4. With only two options available, choose ​Delete​.

    • If you have intentions of keeping the saved data and would like to copy the saved data, choose ​Copy to System Storage ​instead. You then choose the saved data you want to keep and copy it over.

5. Choose the ​saved data​ you want to delete from the USB storage device. Afterwards, select Delete​.