If you decide to make your account private, this means that you don’t want just anyone following you – this forces any user who wants to follow you to send you a request first so that you can accept or deny it. If you decide to leave your account public, then anyone can follow you without having to send a request.
Note: If you’re not keen on growing your profile, it’s probably best to leave your account on private. If you are, then you need to leave your account public so that people can follow you without having to go through a process.
If your account is private, for each person that sends you a request, it gets sent to your follow request in your notifications section and you can decide whether to accept or decline their request.
Sometimes when it comes to accepting someone’s follow request or declining it, you can accidentally do the opposite of what you meant because the buttons are so small.
If You Delete a Follow Request on Instagram Does The Other Person Know
If you delete someone’s follow request, they will know because they’ll see the follow button when they visit your profile again. It should say requested if their request is pending, but if it’s been deleted, they’ll know that you deleted it since it changes to Follow.
There is no notification that they’re given by Instagram to notify them that someone has deleted their follow request. Because of the privacy aspect, Instagram wouldn’t allow people to know when someone has declined their follow request.
This would cause too many problems within the community and people won’t feel comfortable deleting other people’s follow requests if they know that Instagram will tell that person.
As soon as you delete someone’s follow request on Instagram, they’ll have no clue it happened.
If you decline a follow request on Instagram, they don’t receive any notifications saying that their follow request was deleted.
They will only know that you deleted their follow request if you decline their follow request. If they’ve sent you a message and you’ve deleted the message request accidentally, they won’t know.
How to Recover Deleted Follow Requests on Instagram
If you want to recover deleted follow requests on Instagram or retrieve follow requests that you would’ve wanted to accept, unfortunately, it’s not possible. There’s no way recover deleted follow requests on Instagram.
If you set things up the right way, then you can see follow requests as they come through on your phone then if you delete them, you’ll still have a history of the follow request that they send you.
How to See Deleted Follow Requests on Instagram
It’s possible to see deleted follow requests on Instagram. But now the question is how? If you accidentally delete follow requests on Instagram, down below are ways you can see the follow request that you deleted.
1. Turn on Notification History
If you’ve deleted the request and you did not get the opportunity to see it, you need not worry. Notification history has got you covered. You can still access a message that was sent in your notification tab. All you have to do is follow these simple steps.
Go to your phone android device setting and tap on the notification tab. Click on the advanced settings tab, then lastly, the notification history and turn it on.
From that point, you will be able to see the notifications of follow requests you’ve deleted from here forward.
The only setback about this is that you need to have done that before for you deleted the follow request.
Notisave helps receive and store any type of notifications you receive on your device. This is essential, especially when you’re busy and are fond of missing those important requests that people send you.
All your Instagram follow requests will always be stored here, and you can access them anytime. Even if you delete the follow request, this app usually has recorded the request.
1. Install Notifsave. The first thing you need to do is locate the app in google play. You need to search it Hit on the download button. Once done with the download, hit the install button and proceed.
2. Open the app and grant permission. With all the google apps, you have to download, install and then give the required permission for the app to access your account. With Notisave, it’s not an exemptional. You need to give it access to your notification since that is its core business.
3. Receive the first follow request. Once you grant the app access to your notification, you can receive follow requests on Instagram.
Once you do, Notisave will record all the follow requests you receive. It will then record all of them so you can manage to view them later.
4. Access the app to see the notification. Being sure you have received a request, it’s now time to see what you received.
There will be two sections on the app, one written saved and the other unread. You can always take your time to go through the follow requests you want to recover.
Once you scroll down, you will manage to find a saved notification from Instagram. There you can manage to see all the deleted follow requests
3. Turn On Notification History In Settings
If you wish to get an instant email notification so you know what people say before you delete a follow request and regret it, turning on the notification history in settings is what you need to do.
- Go to your phone android device setting and tap on the notification tab.
2. Click on the advanced settings tab, then lastly, the notification history and turn it on.
From that point, you will be able to see all the follow requests you’ve deleted.
The only setback about this is that you need to have done that before for you to access the follow request that you deleted.
4. Turn On Email Notifications on Instagram
Turning on your email notification is one of the best ways to know what follow requests you’ve received before you delete them. Do you know you can just click that one email and get all the deleted follow requests?
Instagram allows you to receive all the notifications that you’d normally receive on your phone which include follow requests. But that only happens if you turn on your email notification from the setting.
Accidently Declined a Follow Request Instagram?
If you’ve accidentally declined someone’s follow request, then there’s nothing you can do to bring back the request options.
The only way to remedy this is to follow them – if their account is private, they’ll have to accept you and if not, you’ll have to wait for them to follow you back. If you don’t want to follow them but you want them to follow you, there’s nothing you can do to bring back them request options.
The only way you’ll have another chance of accepting their request is if they decide to send you another one.
If not, you can make them follow you again – the only chance you have is to follow them and wait for them to follow you. From here, you’ll receive the request options again and you can choose to accept them this time.
Send Them A Request
If you declined their request by accident, then you need to send them a request because they might have forgotten that they sent you a request or they may think that their request is still pending with you.
Plus if they can see that you’ve declined their request, then they’re going to think that you did it on purpose so it’ll be embarrassing for them to send you another one.
You Forgot The Username
If you’ve forgotten the username of the person’s account that you declined, then there’s not much that you can do apart from waiting for them to send you another request.
If you can vaguely remember their username, then you can try searching it in the search bar to see if something comes up. If you can’t remember anything at all, then you’ll simply have to wait for them to send you a request.
Accidentally Accepted Follow Request Instagram?
If you’ve accidentally accepted someone’s follow request, then it’ll notify them that you’ve accepted their request and they’re now following you.
When they can see you’ve seen their follow and you don’t reply, they’ll know that you were ignoring them.
Whereas before, their follow was in the request folder so you could read it or delete it and they’d never know that you’ve read it. But now you’ve read it, you have a problem on your hands.
If you don’t want them to have access to you easily, then you can block them. When you block them, they won’t be able to message you or follow you.
Blocking them will only stop them from being able to send messages that notify you and you see right away when you open the DM section on Instagram
No. Instagram does not send a notification if you reject someone’s follow request. However, they may figure it out if they visit your profile after you have rejected it.
When someone requests to follow you, a white button will appear underneath your profile. This button will say “Requested”. In other words, the app is telling you that you have already requested to follow this person.